Search Icon White
News Cover Image

October ANSI Caucus to Feature Deputy Commissioner for Foods at the FDA

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) has announced that the next monthly ANSI Caucus Luncheon will be held on Friday, October 8, 2010. The meeting will feature guest speaker Michael R. Taylor, J.D., deputy commissioner for foods for the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

Mr. Taylor was named deputy commissioner for foods at on Jan. 13, 2010. He is the first individual to hold the position, which was created along with a new Office of Foods in August 2009 to elevate the leadership and management FDA's Foods Program. Mr. Taylor is a nationally recognized food safety expert, having served in high-level positions at FDA and USDA, as a research professor in academia, and on several National Academy of Sciences expert committees.

As deputy commissioner for foods, Taylor provides leadership and direction to all food programs in the FDA, including those managed by the Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition (CFSAN) and the Center for Veterinary Medicine (CVM), and the foods-related programs of FDA's inspection and compliance arm, the Office of Regulatory Affairs (ORA).

Mr. Taylor returned to FDA in July 2009 as Senior Advisor to the Commissioner. Before that, he served as research professor at the School of Public Health and Health Services, The George Washington University. His research agenda focused on policy, resource, and institutional issues that affect the success of public health agencies in carrying out their prevention-related missions. Mr. Taylor received his law degree from the University of Virginia and his B.A. degree in political science from Davidson College.

The October Caucus is sponsored by NSF International, an ANSI member and audited designator.

The Caucus will be held from 11:45 p.m. to 1:30 p.m. at the National Press Club (529 14th Street, NW, Zenger Room) in Washington, DC. RSVPs are requested by Tuesday, October 5, 2010.

To RSVP, communicate special dietary requests, or for more information on caucus luncheons, please contact Miranda Der Ohanian ([email protected]; 202.331.3613).


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]