Search Icon White
News Cover Image

Voluntary Standards Cover the Spectrum: from Bank Deposit Tickets to Fire Protection Systems

In an effort to communicate the vital role that standards play in daily life, the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) will publish, on an ongoing basis, a series of snapshots of the diverse standards initiatives undertaken in the global and national standards arena, many of which are performed by ANSI members and ANSI-accredited standards developers. Two of the latest selections follow:

Bank Deposit Tickets
According to the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC), the U.S.'s 8,500 financial institutions handled more than 9.6 billion check deposit transactions in 2010. A recently revised standard from Accredited Standards Committee X9 (ASC X9) helps financial institutions to accurately process these deposits by providing specifications for deposit ticket design.

X9.100-120-2010, Bank Deposit Tickets, specifies design parameters for personal and commercial deposit tickets. While X9.100-120-2010 does not establish a specific design, orientation, and layout, it does provide specifications for a range within which key design elements shall be placed. The standard is intended to increase uniformity in several aspects of deposit ticket design to improve the processing and handling of deposit tickets throughout the entire check processing system.

An ANSI organizational member and accredited standards developer, ASC X9 seeks to develop, establish, maintain, and promote standards for the financial services industry. ASC X9's standards are used throughout the industry as well as by the federal government to facilitate delivery of financial services and products to users, and to promote global commerce.

Fire Protection Systems
According to ANSI member and audited designator the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), sprinkler systems can reduce the average property loss by 71% in the event of a fire. But proper care and maintenance is critical to ensuring a system's continued effectiveness. NFPA 25-2011, Standard for the Inspection, Testing, and Maintenance of Water-Based Fire Protection Systems, helps maintenance professionals, inspectors, and building owners keep fire protection systems ready to respond.

NFPA 25-2011 establishes minimum requirements for the periodic inspection, testing, and maintenance of water-based fire protection systems, including land-based and marine applications. Subject to renewal every three years, the 2011 version of NFPA 25 takes into account the latest inspection, testing, and maintenance records in addition to other consideration that could impact the adequacy of the fire protection systems.

NFPA is a non-profit organization with an international scope that provides and advocates consensus codes and standards, research, training, and education to reduce the worldwide burden of fire and other hazards.


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]