Search Icon White
News Cover Image

W3C Web Services Standards Approved as ISO/IEC International Standards


Reprinted from W3C press release

Today the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) and the Joint Technical Committee JTC 1, Information Technology, of the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) announced formal approval of a package of W3C Web Services technologies as ISO/IEC International Standards. As ISO/IEC JTC 1 Standards, these widely deployed technologies now benefit from formal recognition from national bodies, which will promote interoperability and reduce market fragmentation, thus benefiting all users.

"This is good news for ensuring that people can use the Web anywhere, on any device," said Jeff Jaffe, W3C CEO. "The W3C Membership has demonstrated strong support for this collaboration with the JTC 1 community in order to enhance global ICT interoperability. W3C's Open Web platform is poised to be the interoperable platform of choice for an expanding Web of services, devices, and people. As these technologies become stable standards, the recognition by national bodies of W3C's community, process, and Royalty-Free patent policy will only grow in significance."

The package of W3C Web Services technologies was first submitted to ISO/IEC JTC 1 Publicly Available Specifications (PAS) in January 2011. The package included eight specifications, including SOAP 1.2, MTOM, Addressing 1.0 and Policy 1.5, which are foundation specifications for message-based service technology that has been adopted by industry worldwide. W3C has been an approved JTC 1 PAS Submitter since November 2010, and is one of eight organizations that are currently approved. Under the Publicly Available Specification procedures, organizations accredited as valid PAS Submitters can send their specifications directly to JTC 1 for national body voting to become recognized International Standards.

"ISO/IEC JTC 1 is very pleased with this first and successful opportunity to take the important work of W3C and have it transposed into formally approved ISO/IEC Standards," said Karen Higginbottom, ISO/IEC JTC 1 Chair. "We look forward to a strong and constructive relationship."

The benefits of collaboration for interoperability
W3C has developed processes and other policies that promote the development of high-quality, consensus-driven standards, many of which power the Web and enterprise computing. The ISO and IEC imprimatur increases the avenues for adoption of W3C technology and guidelines. To many national bodies, the ISO and IEC brands will be more familiar than the W3C brand. In some cases, such as procurement, a country may be required to use ISO/IEC standards. For these reasons and others, W3C believes that formal approval by JTC 1 of W3C standards as International Standards will increase deployment, reduce fragmentation, and provide all users with greater interoperability.

"As Secretariat of ISO/IEC JTC 1, the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is very proud of the successful collaboration between ISO/IEC JTC 1 and W3C," said Lisa Rajchel, ISO/IEC JTC 1 Secretary. "Approval of the W3C specifications once again demonstrates strong cooperation between the formal standards process and consortia."

W3C anticipates that its next submission will be the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0. To learn more about W3C and the ISO/IEC JTC1 PAS Submission process, see the W3C PAS FAQ.

About the World Wide Web Consortium
The World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) is an international consortium where Member organizations, a full-time staff, and the public work together to develop Web standards. W3C primarily pursues its mission through the creation of Web standards and guidelines designed to ensure long-term growth for the Web. Over 325 organizations are Members of the Consortium. W3C is jointly run by the MIT Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory (MIT CSAIL) in the USA, the European Research Consortium for Informatics and Mathematics (ERCIM) headquartered in France and Keio University in Japan, and has additional Offices worldwide. For more information see

About ISO
ISO is the world's largest developer and publisher of International Standards. ISO is a network of the national standards institutes of some 163 countries at the end of 2010. More than 100 of ISO's members are from developing countries. ISO has more than 18600 International Standards in its currents portfolio and ISO's work programme ranges from standards for traditional activities, such as agriculture and construction, through mechanical engineering, manufacturing and distribution, to transport, medical devices, the environment, safety, information and communication technologies, and to standards for good practices and for services.

About IEC
The IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission) is the world's leading organization that prepares and publishes International Standards for all electrical, electronic and related technologies - collectively known as "electrotechnology".

IEC International Standards cover a vast range of technologies from power generation, transmission and distribution to home appliances and office equipment, semiconductors, fibre optics, batteries, nanotechnologies, solar energy and marine energy converters, to mention just a few. Wherever you find electricity and electronics, you will find the IEC supporting safety and performance, the environment, electrical energy efficiency and renewable energies. The IEC also manages Conformity Assessment Systems that certify that equipment, systems or components conform to its International Standards.

List of standards

  • ISO/IEC DIS 40210, Information technology - W3C SOAP Version 1.2 Part 1: Messaging Framework
  • ISO/IEC DIS 40220, Information technology - W3C SOAP Version 1.2 Part 2: Adjuncts
  • ISO/IEC DIS 40230, Information technology - W3C SOAP Message Transmission Optimization Mechanism
  • ISO/IEC DIS 40240, Information technology - W3C Web Services Addressing 1.0 - Core
  • ISO/IEC DIS 40250, Information technology - W3C Web Services Addressing 1.0 - SOAP Binding
  • ISO/IEC DIS 40260, Information technology - W3C Web Services Addressing 1.0 - Metadata
  • ISO/IEC DIS 40270, Information technology - W3C Web Services Policy 1.5 - Framework
  • ISO/IEC DIS 40280, Information technology - W3C Web Services Policy 1.5 - Attachment


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]