Search Icon White
News Cover Image

Distinguished Members of the Standardization Community Honored at the 2011 ANSI Awards Banquet and Ceremony

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) honored leaders of the U.S. and global voluntary standards-setting and conformity assessment community today at the 2011 ANSI Awards Banquet and Ceremony. Held annually, the leadership and service awards program is a long-standing tradition that recognizes and honors creativity, dedication, and vision in the field of standards and conformity assessment.

Held at the Newseum Knight Conference Center in Washington, DC, the awards dinner was one of many ANSI-sponsored events held in conjunction with the celebration of World Standards Week 2011.

Fourteen distinguished individuals were recognized at the ceremony:

James E. Matthews III, director of technical standards and standards policy at Corning Incorporated, was awarded the Astin-Polk International Standards Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting trade and understanding among nations through the advancement, development, or administration of international standardization, measurements, or certification.

Robert A. Williams, vice president, standards, at Underwriters Laboratories Inc., received the Howard Coonley Medal, which recognizes an executive who has benefited the national economy through voluntary standardization and conformity assessment and has given outstanding support to standardization as a management tool.

Richard DeBlasio, chief engineer at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory, was awarded the Finegan Standards Medal, which honors an individual who has shown extraordinary leadership in the development and application of voluntary standards.

Keith A. Mowry, manager of accreditation services at Underwriters Laboratories Inc., was honored with the Gerald H. Ritterbusch Conformity Assessment Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting the understanding and application of conformity assessment methods as a means of providing confidence in standards compliance for the marketplace.

Ralph M. Showers, Ph.D., emeritus professor of electrical engineering at the University of Pennsylvania, was awarded the Elihu Thomson Electrotechnology Medal, which honors an individual who has contributed in an exceptional, dedicated way to the field of electrotechnology standardization, conformity assessment, and related activities at the national and international levels.

Mary H. Saunders, director of the standards coordination office at the National Institute of Standards and Technology, received the George S. Wham Leadership Medal, which honors an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the voluntary standardization community and provided long-term direction and visionary qualities in support of the ANSI Federation.

Diane C. Thompson, president of Thompson Consulting and editor of Standards Engineering, was awarded of the President's Award for Journalism, which recognizes a journalist whose work helps to illuminate the role that standardization and conformity assessment activities play in improving the health and safety of Americans and in strengthening the competitiveness of U.S. business in a global marketplace.

E. Clayton Teague, Ph.D. , former director of the National Nanotechnology Coordinating Office and former chair of the ANSI-accredited U.S. Technical Advisory Group to the International Organization for Standardization Technical Committee 229 on nanotechnologies, received the Chairman's Award, which honors outstanding accomplishments by any group or individual on behalf of ANSI or the ANSI Federation.

Matthew R. Young, an associate at Booz Allen Hamilton, received the Next Generation Award, which honors individuals who have been engaged in standardization or conformity assessment activities for less than eight years and who have, during this time, demonstrated vision, leadership, dedication, and significant contributions to their chosen field of activity.

Meritorious Service Awards
Five individuals received the Meritorious Service Award in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the U.S. voluntary standardization system. Each has demonstrated outstanding service in enabling ANSI to attain the objectives for which it was founded. The awardees are:

  • John G. Abbott, Ph.D., director of regulatory affairs at Philips Healthcare
  • Jean M. Baronas, a consultant for Sony Electronics Inc.
  • Sonya M. Bird, program manager for international standards at Underwriters Laboratories Inc.
  • Brian K. Daly, director of core network and government regulatory standards at AT&T
  • Ramona Saar, program manager at the National Institute of Standards and Technology

ANSI congratulates these outstanding individuals on their contributions to and accomplishments in the standards and conformity assessment industry.


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]