Search Icon White
News Cover Image

People on the Move

People on the Move spotlights trailblazers in standardization, highlighting their latest achievements, advancements, and contributions to the standards community.

The Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation (AAMI), an accredited standards developer and member of the American National Standards Institute (ANSI), has announced the appointment of Carol Herman as senior vice president for standards policy and programs, upon the retirement of Theresa Zuraski at the end of this year. Ms. Herman, who currently serves as director of the standards program at the U.S. Food and Drug Administration's (FDA) Center for Devices and Radiological Health (CDRH), will join AAMI on January 1, 2012. Ms. Zuraski will remain active with AAMI in a consulting role.

Ms. Herman began her career at the FDA in 1978, serving in various roles over her long tenure. She was named director of medical device standards in 2000, and held that role for 10 years before assuming the position of CDRH director of standards. A highly regarded expert in both the U.S. and international standards communities, she was integral to bringing respect and consistency to the FDA's standards program. The program was created as a result of the Food and Drug Administration Modernization Act (FDAMA) of 1997.

AAMI is a non-profit organization representing over 6,000 members from around the world united by the mission to increase the understanding and beneficial use of medical instrumentation through effective standards and educational programs and publications.

Submit an Announcement
Contributions to People on the Move may be submitted to [email protected]. All submissions are published at ANSI's discretion.

Career Opportunities
As a service to the U.S. standards and conformity assessment community, ANSI provides an online network connecting the most progressive companies with the most qualified individuals. Please visit ANSI's career opportunities webpage for details. career opportunities webpage for details.


Jana Zabinski

Director, Communications and Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]