Search Icon White
News Cover Image

ANSI Board Names Volunteer Leaders for 2012

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Board of Directors has announced its new members and officers for the term beginning January 1, 2012.

James T. Pauley, senior vice president of external affairs and government relations at Schneider Electric USA, was appointed as ANSI's new chairman of the board for a one-year term. Mr. Pauley most recently served as chairman of the Board's Finance Committee, and formerly as an ANSI Board vice chairman. He currently co-chairs the ANSI Electric Vehicles Standards Panel (EVSP) and holds leadership positions in numerous other industry organizations, including the National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA) and the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA).

Arthur E. Cote, P.E., supported by NFPA, will step down from his current position as chairman on December 31, 2011, and will assume the role of immediate past chairman.

Supporting the chairman will be four vice chairs: Kevan Lawlor, president and CEO of NSF International; David L. Miller, director of standards at the American Petroleum Institute (API); Sharon K. Stanford, director, standards administration at the American Dental Association (ADA); and Belinda Collins, Ph.D., director, technology services for the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).

The following individuals have been elected to the Board as directors-at-large for terms beginning January 1, 2012:

  • Dan Bart, president and chief executive officer, Valley View Corporation
  • GP Russ Chaney, chief executive officer, International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials (IAPMO)
  • Colin Church, voluntary standards coordinator, U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC)
  • Donald R. Deutsch, vice president of standards strategy and architecture, Oracle Corporation
  • Mary K. Logan, president, Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation (AAMI)
  • Joseph M. McGuire, president, Association of Home Appliance Manufacturers (AHAM)
  • Stephen P. Oksala, vice president of standards, Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers (SCTE)
  • Bonnie Rose, president, CSA Standards at CSA Group
  • Gregory E. Saunders, director of the Defense Standardization Program Office, U.S. Department of Defense (DOD)
  • James A. Thomas, president, ASTM International
  • Kathleen A. Thuner, consumer representative, sponsored by the National Association of Consumer Agency Administrators (NACAA)
  • Andrew Updegrove, partner, Gesmer Updegrove LLP
  • Lee Webster, JD, MBA, Astd, director of HR standards, Society of Human Resource Management (SHRM)

In addition, the following Board members will serve as ANSI Member Forum chairs: R. David Pittle (Consumer Interest Forum), John Kulick (Company Member Forum), Mary McKiel (Government Member Forum), and Fred Hayes (Organizational Member Forum).

Individuals retiring from the Board at the end of 2011 include:

  • Kathy Apple, CEO, National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN)
  • Linda Golodner, president emeritus, National Consumers League
  • Judy Gorman, managing director, IEEE Standards Association, IEEE
  • Carol Herman, director, standards management staff, Center for Devices and Radiological Health (CDRH) Standards Program, U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
  • Roberta Nelson Shea, consultant, Safety Compliance Services, LLC
  • Robert W. Noth, former manager of engineering and standards, Deere & Company
  • Jack Wells, vice president corporate development, Pass & Seymour/Legrand
  • Stephen Yurek, president, Air-Conditioning, Heating and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI)

The members and staff of the ANSI Federation express their gratitude and thanks to all of these individuals for their many contributions and efforts in support of the Institute and the U.S. voluntary consensus standardization and conformity assessment community.

About ANSI
The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is a private non-profit organization whose mission is to enhance U.S. global competitiveness and the American quality of life by promoting, facilitating, and safeguarding the integrity of the voluntary standardization and conformity assessment system. Its membership is comprised of businesses, professional societies and trade associations, standards developers, government agencies, and consumer and labor organizations. The Institute represents the diverse interests of more than 125,000 companies and organizations and 3.5 million professionals worldwide.

The Institute is the official U.S. representative to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and, via the U.S. National Committee, the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), and is a U.S. representative to the International Accreditation Forum (IAF).


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]