Search Icon White
News Cover Image

FQS Accredits Puerto Rico Law Enforcement Agency


ANAB/FQS press release

The ANSI-ASQ National Accreditation Board/FQS has accredited the Forensic Science Institute of Puerto Rico, making it the first law enforcement agency in the Americas to become accredited to ISO/IEC 17020 for forensic inspection.

ISO/IEC 17020 is the international standard for accreditation of various types of bodies that perform inspection. FQS accreditation to ISO/IEC 17020 is based on an assessment of the agency against the requirements in the standard. The assessment covers the agency's procedures, technical qualifications, and competence for conducting specific inspection activities within the scope of the standard.

"FQS's assessment and accreditation of the Forensic Science Institute of Puerto Rico provides formal recognition of this excellent forensic laboratory and its crime scene investigative work, which is among the best in the United States and its territories," said Terry Mills, FQS Manager of Accreditation.

FQS launched its ISO/IEC 17020 program for police forensic units in 2011. Previously, accrediting bodies in the United States accredited crime scene units to ISO/IEC 17025, the international standard for analytical testing laboratories. ISO/IEC 17020 is more appropriate for the forensic work performed by crime scene investigation units.

The ANSI-ASQ National Accreditation Board provides accreditation services under the FQS, ACLASS, and ANAB brands.

  • Under the FQS brand, the organization accredits ISO/IEC 17020 forensic inspection agencies and ISO/IEC 17025 forensic testing agencies. FQS is recognized by the FBI to conduct DNA QAS accreditation assessments.

  • Under the ACLASS brand, the organization accredits ISO/IEC 17025 testing and calibration laboratories, ISO/IEC 17020 inspection bodies, ISO Guide 34 reference material producers, ISO/IEC 17043 proficiency test providers, and industry-specific accreditation programs.

  • Under the ANAB brand, the organization is the U.S. accreditation body for management systems and accredits certification bodies for ISO 9001 quality management systems; ISO 14001 environmental management systems; ISO 22000 food safety management systems; ISO 28000 supply chain security management systems; ISO/IEC 20000-1 information technology service management systems; ISO 27001 information security management systems; ANSI/AIHA Z10, CSA Z1000, and BS OHSAS 18001 occupational health and safety management systems; IECQ QC 08000 hazardous substance process management; PS- PrepTM; and numerous industry-specific requirements.

The ANSI-ASQ National Accreditation Board is a member of the International Accreditation Forum (IAF) and the International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (ILAC), and is a signatory of the IAF and ILAC multilateral recognition arrangements. Through these arrangements, the ANSI-ASQ National Accreditation Board cooperates with other accreditation bodies around the world to provide value to the organization it has accredited and their clients, ensuring that accredited certificates are recognized nationally and internationally. The global conformity assessment system ensures confidence and reduces risk for customers engaging in trade worldwide.

For more information about ACLASS, visit

For more information about FQS, visit

For more information about ANAB, visit


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]