Search Icon White
News Cover Image

ANSI Announces Recipients of the 2012 Leadership and Service Awards


The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) announced today the recipients of its 2012 Leadership and Service Awards. Recipients have been recognized for their significant contributions to national and international standardization activities, as well as an ongoing commitment to their industry, their nation, and the enhancement of the global voluntary consensus standards system. ANSI will honor these seventeen distinguished award recipients during an October 10 ceremony held in conjunction with World Standards Week 2012 in Washington, DC.

Judith L. Gorman, managing director (retired) of the IEEE Standards Association, has been awarded the Astin-Polk International Standards Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting trade and understanding among nations through the advancement, development, or administration of international standardization, measurements, or certification.

Edwin Piñero, chief sustainability officer of Veolia Water North America, will receive the Howard Coonley Medal, which recognizes an executive who has benefited the national economy through voluntary standardization and conformity assessment and has given outstanding support to standardization as a management tool.

Damian Kotecki, Ph.D., of Damian Kotecki Welding Consultants will receive the Finegan Standards Medal, which honors an individual who has shown extraordinary leadership in the development and application of voluntary standards.

Thomas Frost, lead financial analyst (retired) with AT&T, will receive the Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal, which recognizes outstanding efforts to foster cooperation among the bodies involved in global IT standardization.

Gordon Gillerman, chief of the Standards Services Group at the National Institute of Standards and Technology, will receive the Gerald H. Ritterbusch Conformity Assessment Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting the understanding and application of conformity assessment methods as a means of providing confidence in standards compliance for the marketplace.

Ronald Reimer, director emeritus of global standards and trade at Rockwell Automation, has been awarded the Elihu Thomson Electrotechnology Medal, which honors an individual who has contributed in an exceptional, dedicated way to the field of electrotechnology standardization, conformity assessment, and related activities at the national and international levels.

Robert W. Noth, manager (retired) of corporate engineering standards at Deere & Company, will receive the George S. Wham Leadership Medal, which honors an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the voluntary standardization community and provided long-term direction and visionary qualities in support of the ANSI Federation.

Patrick D. Gallagher, Ph.D., undersecretary of commerce for standards and technology and director of the National Institute of Standards and Technology, was selected as the recipient of the Chairman's Award, which honors outstanding accomplishments by any group or individual on behalf of ANSI or the ANSI Federation.

Next Generation Awards
Three individuals will receive the Next Generation Award, which honors individuals who have been engaged in standardization or conformity assessment activities for less than eight years and who have, during this time, demonstrated vision, leadership, dedication, and significant contributions to their chosen field of activity. The awardees are:

  • Jonathan Colby, hydrodynamic engineer at Verdant Power
  • Phillip Cutler, director of technical services at the National Precast Concrete Association
  • Elham Tabassi, electronics engineer at the National Institute of Standards and Technology

Meritorious Service Awards
Six individuals will receive the Meritorious Service Award in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the U.S. voluntary standardization system. Each has demonstrated outstanding service in enabling ANSI to attain the objectives for which it was founded. The awardees are:

  • Karen Boehme, international standards development manager for the National Fluid Power Association
  • Jean-Paul Emard, director of industry forums at the Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions
  • Joseph Hersey, Jr., chief of the U.S. Coast Guard's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Policy Division
  • Bernard Liebler, director of technology and regulatory affairs at AdvaMed
  • Cynthia Woodley, Ed.D., chief operations officer and lead psychometrician at Professional Testing, Inc.
  • Robert Vondrasek, vice president (retired) of technical projects at the National Fire Protection Association

These seventeen individuals will be honored at the 2012 ANSI Leadership and Service Awards, a banquet and ceremony to be held on Wednesday evening, October 10, at the Newseum in Washington, DC. For more information, visit

About ANSI
ANSI is a private non-profit organization whose mission is to enhance U.S. global competitiveness and the American quality of life by promoting, facilitating, and safeguarding the integrity of the voluntary standardization and conformity assessment system. Its membership is comprised of businesses, professional societies and trade associations, standards developers, government agencies, and consumer and labor organizations.

The Institute represents the diverse interests of more than 125,000 companies and organizations and 3.5 million professionals worldwide.

The Institute is the official U.S. representative to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and, via the U.S. National Committee, the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), and is a U.S. representative to the International Accreditation Forum (IAF). ANSI currently has offices in New York City and Washington, DC. For more information about ANSI, see


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]