Search Icon White
News Cover Image

Distinguished Members of the Standardization Community Honored at the 2012 ANSI Awards Banquet and Ceremony

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) honored leaders of the U.S. and global voluntary standards-setting and conformity assessment community today at the 2012 ANSI Awards Banquet and Ceremony. Held annually, the leadership and service awards program is a long-standing tradition that recognizes and honors creativity, dedication, and vision in the field of standards and conformity assessment.

Held at the Newseum Knight Conference Center in Washington, DC, the awards dinner was one of many ANSI-sponsored events held in conjunction with the celebration of World Standards Week 2012.

Seventeen distinguished individuals were recognized at the ceremony:

Judith L. Gorman, managing director (retired) of the IEEE Standards Association, was awarded the Astin-Polk International Standards Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting trade and understanding among nations through the advancement, development, or administration of international standardization, measurements, or certification.

Edwin Piñero, chief sustainability officer of Veolia Water North America, received the Howard Coonley Medal, which recognizes an executive who has benefited the national economy through voluntary standardization and conformity assessment and has given outstanding support to standardization as a management tool.

Damian Kotecki, Ph.D., of Damian Kotecki Welding Consultants received the Finegan Standards Medal, which honors an individual who has shown extraordinary leadership in the development and application of voluntary standards.

Gordon Gillerman, chief of the Standards Services Group at the National Institute of Standards and Technology, received the Gerald H. Ritterbusch Conformity Assessment Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting the understanding and application of conformity assessment methods as a means of providing confidence in standards compliance for the marketplace.

Thomas Frost, lead financial analyst (retired) with AT&T, received the Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal, which recognizes outstanding efforts to foster cooperation among the bodies involved in global IT standardization.

Ronald Reimer, director emeritus of global standards and trade at Rockwell Automation, was awarded the Elihu Thomson Electrotechnology Medal, which honors an individual who has contributed in an exceptional, dedicated way to the field of electrotechnology standardization, conformity assessment, and related activities at the national and international levels.

Robert W. Noth, manager (retired) of corporate engineering standards at Deere & Company, received the George S. Wham Leadership Medal, which honors an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the voluntary standardization community and provided long-term direction and visionary qualities in support of the ANSI Federation.

Patrick D. Gallagher, Ph.D., undersecretary of commerce for standards and technology and director of the National Institute of Standards and Technology, received the Chairman's Award, which honors outstanding accomplishments by any group or individual on behalf of ANSI or the ANSI Federation.

Next Generation Awards
Three individuals received the Next Generation Award, which honors individuals who have been engaged in standardization or conformity assessment activities for less than eight years and who have, during this time, demonstrated vision, leadership, dedication, and significant contributions to their chosen field of activity. The awardees are:

  • Jonathan Colby, hydrodynamic engineer at Verdant Power
  • Phillip Cutler, director of technical services at the National Precast Concrete Association
  • Elham Tabassi, electronics engineer at the National Institute of Standards and Technology

Meritorious Service Awards
Six individuals received the Meritorious Service Award in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the U.S. voluntary standardization system. Each has demonstrated outstanding service in enabling ANSI to attain the objectives for which it was founded. The awardees are:

  • Karen Boehme, international standards development manager for the National Fluid Power Association
  • Jean-Paul Emard, director of industry forums at the Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions
  • Joseph Hersey, Jr., chief of the U.S. Coast Guard's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Policy Division
  • Bernard Liebler, director of technology and regulatory affairs at AdvaMed
  • Cynthia Woodley, Ed.D., chief operations officer and lead psychometrician at Professional Testing, Inc.
  • Robert Vondrasek, vice president (retired) of technical projects at the National Fire Protection Association

ANSI congratulates these outstanding individuals on their contributions to and accomplishments in the standards and conformity assessment industry.

To view of photo gallery from the 2012 ANSI Leadership and Service Awards, click here.


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]