Search Icon White
News Cover Image

ACLASS and FQS Sign Asia-Pacific Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation Agreement for Inspection


The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is pleased to announce that the ANSI-ASQ National Accreditation Board/ACLASS and FQS have signed a mutual recognition arrangement (MRA) for inspection with the Asia-Pacific Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (APLAC). APLAC, a regional grouping of bodies that recognize and accredit inspection organizations, reference material producers, and other related groups, works to bolster international acceptance of inspection reports, tests, and other documents granted by accredited laboratories and inspection bodies.

The signing, which took place in conjunction with the 18th APLAC General Assembly and Technical Meeting in early December in Sydney, also granted ACLASS and FQS the status of signatories to the International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (ILAC) MRA. In addition to their status as APLAC MRA signatories for inspection, ACLASS and FQS are MRA signatories for calibration and testing; ACLASS is also a MRA signatory for reference material producers.

"Becoming an APLAC MRA signatory for inspection indicates ACLASS and FQS have demonstrated compliance with ISO/IEC 17011, and the facilities ACLASS and FQS have accredited are in compliance with ISO/IEC 17020," said Keith Greenaway, ACLASS and FQS vice president. "By harmonizing accreditation practices around the world, the APLAC MRA forms a regional network of accredited laboratories and inspection bodies to facilitate the acceptance of test, calibration, and inspection reports, which in turn facilitates global trade."

APLAC only grants approval to sign its MRA after a prospective signatory has undergone a detailed examination of the body's documentation and processes as part of a multi-step peer evaluation. During this process, evaluators also observe personnel of the prospective signatory as they conduct assessments of facilities seeking accreditation. APLAC MRA signatories are required to undergo additional peer evaluations every four years.

The ANSI-ASQ National Accreditation Board provides accreditation services under the ACLASS, FQS, and ANAB brands. The ANSI-ASQ National Accreditation Board cooperates with other accreditation bodies around the world to provide value to the organization it has accredited and their clients, ensuring that accredited certificates are recognized nationally and internationally. The global conformity assessment system ensures confidence and reduces risk for customers engaging in trade worldwide.

The following accreditation services are provided under the FQS, ACLASS and ANAB brands:

  • FQS accredits ISO/IEC 17025 forensic testing agencies and ISO/IEC 17020 forensic inspection agencies.
  • ACLASS accredits ISO/IEC 17025 testing and calibration laboratories, ISO/IEC 17020 inspection bodies, ISO Guide 34 reference material producers, ISO/IEC 17043 proficiency test providers, and industry specific accreditation programs.
  • ANAB is the U.S. accreditation body for management systems and accredits certification bodies for ISO 9001 quality management systems; ISO 14001 environmental management systems; ISO 13485 medical device quality management systems; ISO/IEC 20000-1 information technology service management systems; ISO 22000 food safety management systems; ISO 27001 information security management systems; ISO 28000 supply chain security management systems; ISO 50001 energy management systems; ANSI/AIHA Z10, CSA Z1000, and BS?OHSAS 18001 occupational health and safety management systems; PS- Prep; and numerous industry-specific requirements.


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]