Search Icon White

ANSI Announces Recipients of the 2013 Leadership and Service Awards

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) announced today the recipients of its 2013 Leadership and Service Awards. Recipients have been recognized for their significant contributions to national and international standardization activities, as well as an ongoing commitment to their industry, their nation, and the enhancement of the global voluntary consensus standards system. ANSI will honor these seventeen distinguished award recipients during an October 2 ceremony held in conjunction with World Standards Week 2013 in Washington, DC.

John Siemon, CTO and vice president of global operations for the Siemon Company, has been awarded the Astin-Polk International Standards Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting trade and understanding among nations through the advancement, development, or administration of international standardization, measurements, or certification.

Cynthia Fuller, executive director of Accredited Standards Committee X9 Inc. (ASC X9), will receive the Howard Coonley Medal, which recognizes an executive who has benefited the national economy through voluntary standardization and conformity assessment and has given outstanding support to standardization as a management tool.

Aimee McKane, deputy group leader at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, will receive the Finegan Standards Medal, which honors an individual who has shown extraordinary leadership in the development and application of voluntary standards.

Patrick Grother, computer scientist specialist at the U.S. Department of Commerce (DoC)'s National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), will receive the Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal, which recognizes outstanding efforts to foster cooperation among the bodies involved in global IT standardization.

Peter Unger, president and CEO of the American Association for Laboratory Accreditation (A2LA), will receive the Gerald H. Ritterbusch Conformity Assessment Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting the understanding and application of conformity assessment methods as a means of providing confidence in standards compliance for the marketplace.

Lawrence Farr, principal engineer at the Eaton Corporation, will be awarded the Elihu Thomson Electrotechnology Medal, which honors an individual who has contributed in an exceptional, dedicated way to the field of electrotechnology standardization, conformity assessment, and related activities at the national and international levels.

Laura Hitchcock, senior standards specialist and corporate manager of external standards for The Boeing Company, will receive the George S. Wham Leadership Medal, which honors an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the voluntary standardization community and provided long-term direction and visionary qualities in support of the ANSI Federation.

James Shannon, president and CEO of the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), was chosen to receive the Chairman's Award, which honors outstanding accomplishments by any group or individual on behalf of ANSI or the ANSI Federation.

Next Generation Awards
Three individuals will receive the Next Generation Award, which honors those who have been engaged in standardization or conformity assessment activities for less than eight years and who have, during this time, demonstrated vision, leadership, dedication, and significant contributions to their chosen field of activity. The awardees are:

  • Manyphay Souvannarath, senior systems engineer at General Electric Corporation
  • Elaine Newton, deputy standards liaison for NIST's Information Technology Laboratory (ITL)
  • Kerrianne Conn, administrator for standards, processes, and publications for the Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions (ATIS)

Meritorious Service Awards
Six individuals will receive the Meritorious Service Award in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the U.S. voluntary standardization system. Each has demonstrated outstanding service in enabling ANSI to attain the objectives for which it was founded. The awardees are:

  • Al Scolnik, vice president, technical services (retired) for the National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA)
  • Mark Earley, chief electrical engineer for NFPA
  • Kip Smythe, vice president of global relations at NPES The Association for Suppliers of Printing, Publishing and Converting Technologies
  • Peter Musgrove, principal member of technical staff for AT&T Inc.
  • Claire Ramspeck, director for technology for ASHRAE
  • Ed Mikoski, vice president of EIA standards and technology at the Electronic Components Industry Association (ECIA)

These seventeen individuals will be honored at the 2013 ANSI Leadership and Service Awards, a banquet and ceremony to be held on Wednesday evening, October 2, at the Newseum's Knight Conference Center in Washington, DC. For more information, visit

About ANSI
The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is a private non-profit organization whose mission is to enhance U.S. global competitiveness and the American quality of life by promoting, facilitating, and safeguarding the integrity of the voluntary standardization and conformity assessment system. Its membership is made up of businesses, professional societies and trade associations, standards developers, government agencies, and consumer and labor organizations. The Institute represents the interests of more than 125,000 companies and organizations and 3.5 million professionals worldwide.

The Institute is the official U.S. representative to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and, via the U.S. National Committee, the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), and is a U.S. representative to the International Accreditation Forum (IAF).


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]