Search Icon White

ACLASS and FQS Sign International Cooperation Agreement for Proficiency Testing


Reprinted from an ACLASS-FQS news release

The ANSI-ASQ National Accreditation Board d/b/a ACLASS and FQS has signed the Asia-Pacific Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (APLAC) mutual recognition arrangement (MRA) for proficiency testing. The signing ceremony took place in conjunction with the 20th APLAC General Assembly and Technical Meetings held in Guadalajara, Mexico. ACLASS and FQS are among eight initial signatories of the MRA for proficiency testing.

APLAC is a regional cooperation of bodies that recognize laboratories, inspection bodies, and reference material producers - and now proficiency testing providers. APLAC promotes international acceptance of endorsed test, calibration, inspection, and proficiency test reports and other documents issued by organizations accredited by APLAC MRA signatories.

In addition to being approved to sign the MRA for proficiency testing, ACLASS and FQS are MRA signatories for calibration and testing, inspection, and reference material producers.

"Becoming an APLAC MRA signatory for proficiency testing indicates ACLASS and FQS comply with ISO/IEC 17011, and the organizations ACLASS and FQS have accredited are in compliance with ISO/IEC 17043," Keith Greenaway, ACLASS and FQS Vice President, said. "The APLAC MRA harmonizes accreditation practices around the world to allow global recognition of the competence of proficiency test providers."

Approval to sign the APLAC MRAs is granted only after a rigorous peer evaluation, during which the evaluators conduct an in-depth examination of organizational processes and documentation. Peer evaluators also witness the accreditation body's personnel as they conduct assessments of facilities seeking accreditation to confirm that they operate according to the requirements of international standards.

The ANSI-ASQ National Accreditation Board provides accreditation services under the ACLASS, FQS, and ANAB brands.

ACLASS accredits ISO/IEC 17025 testing and calibration laboratories, ISO/IEC 17020 inspection bodies, ISO Guide 34 reference material producers, ISO/IEC 17043 proficiency test providers, ISO 15189 medical laboratories, and industry-specific accreditation programs.

FQS accredits ISO/IEC 17025 forensic testing agencies and ISO/IEC 17020 forensic inspection agencies.

ANAB is the U.S. accreditation body for management systems and accredits certification bodies for ISO 9001 quality management systems; ISO 14001 environmental management systems; ISO 13485 medical device quality management systems; ISO/IEC 20000-1 information technology service management systems; ISO 22000 food safety management systems; ISO 27001 information security management systems; ISO 28000 supply chain security management systems; ISO 50001 energy management systems; ANSI/AIHA Z10, CSA Z1000, and BS?OHSAS 18001 occupational health and safety management systems; ASIS SPC.1, ASIS/BSI BCM.01, BS 25999-2, and NFPA 1600 preparedness management systems; and numerous industry-specific requirements.

The ANSI-ASQ National Accreditation Board is a member of the International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (ILAC) and the International Accreditation Forum (IAF), and is a signatory of the ILAC and IAF multilateral recognition arrangements. Through these arrangements, the ANSI-ASQ National Accreditation Board cooperates with other accreditation bodies around the world to provide value to the organization it has accredited and their clients, ensuring that accredited certificates are recognized nationally and internationally. The global conformity assessment system ensures confidence and reduces risk for customers engaging in trade worldwide.

For more information about ACLASS, visit
For more information about FQS, visit
For more information about ANAB, visit


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]