Search Icon White
News Cover Image

ANSI Announces Recipients of the 2014 Leadership and Service Awards


The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) announced today the recipients of its 2014 Leadership and Service Awards. Recipients have been recognized for their significant contributions to national and international standardization activities, as well as an ongoing commitment to their industry, their nation, and the enhancement of the global voluntary consensus standards system. ANSI will honor these eighteen distinguished award recipients during an October 22 ceremony held in conjunction with World Standards Week 2014 in Washington, DC.

Mary McKiel, president of the McKiel Group, has been awarded the Astin-Polk International Standards Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting trade and understanding among nations through the advancement, development, or administration of international standardization, measurements, or certification.

Gus Schaefer, senior vice president and public safety officer (retired) for UL (Underwriters Laboratories Inc.), will receive the Howard Coonley Medal, which recognizes an executive who has benefited the national economy through voluntary standardization and conformity assessment and has given outstanding support to standardization as a management tool.

John Oblak, vice president, standards and regulatory affairs, at EF Johnson Technologies, will receive the Finegan Standards Medal, which honors an individual who has shown extraordinary leadership in the development and application of voluntary standards.

Gary Robinson, director of industry standards with EMC Corporation, will receive the Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal, which recognizes outstanding efforts to foster cooperation among the bodies involved in global IT standardization.

Richard Church, executive director, Plastic Pipe and Fittings Association, will receive the Gerald H. Ritterbusch Conformity Assessment Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting the understanding and application of conformity assessment methods as a means of providing confidence in standards compliance for the marketplace.

John Goodsell, vice president of engineering and product development (retired) for Hubbell Inc., will be awarded the Elihu Thomson Electrotechnology Medal, which honors an individual who has contributed in an exceptional, dedicated way to the field of electrotechnology standardization, conformity assessment, and related activities at the national and international levels.

Maureen Brodoff, vice president and general counsel (retired) for the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), will receive the George S. Wham Leadership Medal, which honors an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the voluntary standardization community and provided long-term direction and visionary qualities in support of the ANSI Federation.

Evan Gaddis, president and CEO of the National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA), was chosen to receive the Chairman's Award, which honors outstanding accomplishments by any group or individual on behalf of ANSI or the ANSI Federation.

Next Generation Awards
Three individuals will receive the Next Generation Award, which honors those who have been engaged in standardization or conformity assessment activities for less than eight years and who have, during this time, demonstrated vision, leadership, dedication, and significant contributions to their chosen field of activity. The awardees are:

  • Ethan Biery, design and development leader with Lutron Electronics
  • Diana Bull, senior member of the technical staff at Sandia National Laboratories
  • Chelsey Schweikert, design engineer for Solar Turbines Inc.

Meritorious Service Awards
Seven individuals will receive the Meritorious Service Award in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the U.S. voluntary standardization system. Each has demonstrated outstanding service in enabling ANSI to attain the objectives for which it was founded. The awardees are:

  • Michael Babiak, director of technology at Energizer Battery Manufacturing Inc.
  • Cheryl Blum, vice president of technology and standards (retired) at the Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA)
  • Doug Durant, manager, product standards, and global agricultural strategic standards coordinator for John Deere
  • Bill Fiske, senior director, technical affairs, at Intertek Testing Service
  • Jonathan Jew, president of J&M Consultants Inc.
  • Laurie Locascio, director of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)'s Material Measurement Laboratory
  • John Young, technical consultant at Siemens Industry Inc.

These eighteen individuals will be honored at the 2014 ANSI Leadership and Service Awards, a banquet and ceremony to be held on Wednesday evening, October 22, at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center in Washington, DC. For more information, visit


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]