Search Icon White

ANSI Announces Recipients of the 2015 Leadership and Service Awards


The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) announced today the recipients of its 2015 Leadership and Service Awards. Recipients have been recognized for their significant contributions to national and international standardization activities, as well as an ongoing commitment to their industry, their nation, and the enhancement of the global voluntary consensus standards system. ANSI will honor these twenty-one distinguished award recipients during a September 30 ceremony held in conjunction with World Standards Week 2015 in Washington, DC.

Philip Piqueira, vice president, global standards for Underwriters Laboratories (UL), has been awarded the Astin-Polk International Standards Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting trade and understanding among nations through the advancement, development, or administration of international standardization, measurements, or certification.

Paraskevas (Paris) Stavrianidis, vice president and general manager of FM Approvals LLC, will receive the Howard Coonley Medal, which recognizes an executive who has benefited the national economy through voluntary standardization and conformity assessment and has given outstanding support to standardization as a management tool.

Steve Whitesell, president of Whitesell Consulting, will receive the Finegan Standards Medal, which honors an individual who has shown extraordinary leadership in the development and application of voluntary standards.

Gary Schrempp, director of global regulation and product safety investigations with Dell, Incorporated, will receive the Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal, which recognizes outstanding efforts to foster cooperation among the bodies involved in global IT standardization.

Patricia Gleason, president of the Safety Equipment Institute, will receive the Gerald H. Ritterbusch Conformity Assessment Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting the understanding and application of conformity assessment methods as a means of providing confidence in standards compliance for the marketplace.

James Matthews, director of technical standards and standards policy with Corning, Incorporated, will be awarded the Elihu Thomson Electrotechnology Medal, which honors an individual who has contributed in an exceptional, dedicated way to the field of electrotechnology standardization, conformity assessment, and related activities at the national and international levels.

James Thomas, president of ASTM International, will receive the George S. Wham Leadership Medal, which honors an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the voluntary standardization community and provided long-term direction and visionary qualities in support of the ANSI Federation.

Stephen Oksala, president of Oksala Consulting LLC, will receive the President's Award for Journalism, which honors a journalist whose work helps to illuminate the role that standardization and conformity assessment activities play in the global marketplace.

Next Generation Awards
Five individuals will receive the Next Generation Award, for individuals who have been engaged in standardization or conformity assessment activities for less than eight years and who have, during this time, demonstrated vision, leadership, dedication, and significant contributions to their chosen field of activity. The awardees are:

  • Ranyee Chiang, director of standards, technology and fuels, Global Alliance for Clean Cookstoves - United Nations Foundation
  • Ryan Franks, technical program manager, National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA)
  • Joe Gittens, director of standards, Security Industry Association
  • Kevin Mangold, computer scientist, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
  • Carin Stuart, senior technology engineer, Energizer Battery Manufacturing, Inc.

Meritorious Service Awards
Eight individuals will receive the Meritorious Service Award in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the U.S. voluntary standardization system. Each has demonstrated outstanding service in enabling ANSI to attain the objectives for which it was founded. The awardees are:

  • Chris Bell, shareholder, Greenberg Traurig LLP
  • C.P. (Sandy) Butterfield, president, Boulder Wind Consulting
  • JoAnn Emmel, associate professor emerita, Virginia Tech University
  • Thomas Hammack, supervisory research microbiologist and chief of the microbial method development branch, Center of Food Safety and Applied Nutrition (CFSAN ), Office of Regulatory Science, U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  • Carol Herman, senior vice president, standards policy and programs, Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation (AAMI)
  • Sylvia Mohr, standards specialist in the commercial service, U.S. Mission to the European Union (EU)
  • Stephanie Montgomery, vice president, technology and standards department, Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA)
  • Cory O'Hara, division chief, regulatory reform programs, U.S. Agency for International Development

These twenty-one individuals will be honored at the 2015 ANSI Leadership and Service Awards, a banquet and ceremony to be held on Wednesday evening, September 30, at the Fairmont Hotel in Washington, DC. For more information, visit

About ANSI

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is a private non-profit organization whose mission is to enhance U.S. global competitiveness and the American quality of life by promoting, facilitating, and safeguarding the integrity of the voluntary standardization and conformity assessment system. Its membership is made up of businesses, professional societies and trade associations, standards developers, government agencies, and consumer and labor organizations. The Institute represents the diverse interests of more than 125,000 companies and organizations and 3.5 million professionals worldwide.

The Institute is the official U.S. representative to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and, via the U.S. National Committee, the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), and is a U.S. representative to the International Accreditation Forum (IAF).


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]