Search Icon White

Vote for Your Favorite World Standards Day Video


Deadline Is August 10

The top-10 finalists of the World Standards Day video competition have been selected and the challenge coordinators International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), and the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) are calling on the public to help select a winner.

The three member organizations of the World Standards Cooperation launched the competition to raise awareness about the importance of international standards with a creative spin. Each 15-second video highlights an example of something that would not work or would be much more difficult without the support of international standards. The organizations selected 10 finalists from a pool of 132 submissions.

To get involved in the social media conversation about the competition, follow the Twitter hashtag #speakstandards, or view the finalist videos here and vote for your favorite.

About World Standards Day

World Standards Day was initially launched in 1970, and is now recognized and celebrated by nations around the globe. U.S. activities are organized annually by a planning committee consisting of representatives from the standards and conformity assessment community. The U.S. Celebration of World Standards Day will be held at the Fairmont Hotel in Washington, DC, on October 1, 2015.

The event will include the presentation of the 2015 Ronald H. Brown Standards Leadership Award, which is named after the late U.S. Secretary of Commerce and honors an individual who has effectively promoted standardization as a key tool in the elimination of global trade barriers. This year, the winner is electronics engineer and musician James Williamson. The results of the 2015 World Standards Day Paper Competition will also be announced.

The Consumer Electronics Association (CEA) is the event's 2015 administrating organization. The event is co-chaired each year by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) and the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]