Search Icon White

Now Available: Newly Revised ISO 9001 and ISO 9000 Quality Management Systems Standards


ANSI is the U.S. Member Body to ISO; Standards are Available on

Standardization stakeholders can now access the International Organization for Standardization's (ISO) newly revised ISO 9001 and ISO 9000 standards through the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) webstore. ANSI is the U.S. member body to ISO.

The ISO 9001:2015 standard - which underwent three years of revision work by experts around the globe -replaces previous versions of the standard and sets out the requirements for a quality management system. Originally published in 1987 with over 1.1 million certificates issued worldwide, the standard provides a framework for all businesses of every size - from banks and hospitals to universities and aerospace - to streamline processes and improve efficiency.

Developed by ISO Technical Committee (TC) 176, Subcommittee (SC) 2, the standard was revised to ensure market relevance at a time when increased globalization has changed business operations and the supply chain. The ANSI-accredited U.S. Technical Advisory Group (TAG) to TC 176/SC 2 is the American Society for Quality (ASQ).

Based on the idea of continual improvement, ISO 9001:2015 builds on seven quality management principles, and incorporates elements such as a stronger focus on stakeholders and the wider context of an organization to fit the evolving needs of modern business. The biggest difference in the new standard versus previous versions is the "High-Level Structure", which follows other ISO management system standards—which makes it easier for anyone using multiple management systems.

ISO has announced that certification bodies will have up to three years to migrate certificates to the new version. At the end of September 2018, a certificate to ISO 9001:2008 will no longer be valid.

"ISO 9001 allows organizations to adapt to a changing world," said acting ISO Secretary-General Kevin McKinley. "It enhances an organization's ability to satisfy its customers and provides a coherent foundation for growth and sustained success."

ISO 9000:2015 contains detailed explanations of the seven quality management principles. It also contains many of the terms and definitions used in ISO 9001 and constitutes a useful companion document to help any organization build a successful quality management system.

Redline versions of both standards are also available on the webstore. Users who purchase these versions will receive both the clean copy of the standard and the redline version:


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]