Search Icon White

USNC Announces IEC's Edison and 1906 Award Winners


The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) congratulates the winners of the U.S. National Committee's (USNC) International Electrotechnical Commission's (IEC) Thomas A. Edison and 1906 Awards. The USNC represents U.S. interests in IEC standards and conformance activities, and is an integrated committee of ANSI.

The Thomas A. Edison Award, created in 2010 in memory of the U.S. inventor and electrical engineer, recognizes exceptional achievement (within the past five years), dedicated service, and significant contributions to the IEC through the effective management of their committees of currently active TC/SC Officers (Chair, Secretary, or Assistant Secretary of a TC or SC) and officers of the IEC Conformity Assessment Systems and their subsidiary bodies. Candidates for the award are nominated by IEC National Committees (NCs), as well as by the IEC general secretary and members of both the Standardization Management Board (SMB) and the Conformity Assessment Board (CAB).

This year, Margie Burk, international standards specialist at Underwriters Laboratories (UL) is one of eight recipients of the award. She has supported three large IEC technical committees (TCs) for a number of years: TC 61: Safety of household and similar electrical appliances (10 years); TC 72: Automatic electrical controls (5 years); and TC 108: Safety of electronic equipment within the field of audio/video, information technology and communication technology (10 years).

Additionally, 36 USNC members have been selected to receive the prestigious IEC 1906 Award in recognition of their noteworthy contributions to the IEC and the electrotechnical industry. The IEC 1906 Award was established in 2004 to commemorate the IEC's year of foundation. The award is bestowed annually upon technical experts from around the globe whose exceptional involvement in IEC activities have brought about significant advancements in international electrotechnical standardization. The U.S. recipients include:

  • Donald Barta, TC 55

  • Ronald Battema, TC 59

  • John Benito, ISO/IEC JTC 1

  • Charles Biss, ISO/IEC JTC 1

  • Dan Brake, IECRE

  • Thomas Burke, TC 108

  • Hui Min (Bill) Chai, TC 33

  • Jonathan Colby, IECRE

  • Lance Cooley, TC 9

  • William Finley, TC 2

  • Steven Fleshler, TC 90

  • Elik Fooks, TC 121

  • John Hedley-Whyte, TC 62

  • David Holmberg, PC 118

  • Joshua Jacobs, TC 110

  • Ben Johnson, TC 31 l

  • Robert Konnik, TC 45

  • Brenda Langston, TC 66

  • William Long, TC 17

  • James Luther, TC 86

  • Steven Margis, IECEE

  • David Mazzarese, TC 86

  • Sharon Miller, TC 61

  • Bob Mitchell, TC 47

  • Enio Montenegro, TC 62

  • Gregory Nieminski, TC 69

  • David Osborn, TC 62

  • John Quigley, IECEE

  • William Radasky, TC 77

  • Brian Rodgers, TC 61

  • Penny Smalley, TC 76

  • Robert Spears, TC 22

  • Jeroen Van Dam, IECRE l Ed Van Vooren, TC 112

  • Grace Wei, TC 100

Read more information about the awards here.

About the USNC/IEC
The U.S. National Committee of the International Electrotechnical Commission (USNC/IEC) serves as the focal point for U.S. parties who are interested in the development, promulgation, and use of globally-relevant standards for the electrotechnical industry. The Committee is also engaged in the assessment of conformance to standards, undertaking work in areas such as testing, certification, and accreditation. As the U.S. representative to the IEC and many related regional standardization bodies, the USNC/IEC serves as a conduit to the global standards-setting community for technical and policy positions arising in the U.S. and brings issues from the global arena to the U.S. for review, consideration, and response. The USNC/IEC is a totally integrated committee of the American National Standards Institute (ANSI).


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]