Search Icon White

ANSI Announces Recipients of the 2016 Leadership and Service Awards


The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) announced today the recipients of its 2016 Leadership and Service Awards. Recipients have been recognized for their significant contributions to national and international standardization activities, as well as an ongoing commitment to their industry, their nation, and the enhancement of the global voluntary consensus standards system. ANSI will honor these 18 distinguished award recipients during an October 26 ceremony held in conjunction with World Standards Week 2016 in Washington DC.

Wayne Morris, vice president of technical operations and standards, Association of Home Appliance Manufacturers (AHAM), has been awarded the Astin-Polk International Standards Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting trade and understanding among nations through the advancement, development, or administration of international standardization, measurements, or certification.

Colin Church, voluntary standards coordinator (retired), U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, will receive the Howard Coonley Medal, which recognizes an executive who has benefitted the national economy through voluntary standardization and conformity assessment and has given outstanding support to standardization as a management tool.

Kenneth Gettman, director of international standards, National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA), will receive the Finegan Standards Metal, which honors an individual who has shown extraordinary leadership in the actual development and application of voluntary standards.

Jennifer Garner, director of INCITS Standards Programs, InterNational Committee for Information Technology Standards (INCITS), Information Technology Industry Council (ITI), will receive the Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal, which recognizes outstanding efforts to foster cooperation among bodies involved in global IT standardization.

Timothy Duffy, manager of conformity assessment, Rockwell Automation, will receive the Gerald H. Rittersbusch Conformity Assessment Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting the understanding and application of conformity assessment methods as a means of providing confidence in standards compliance for the marketplace.

Alec McMillan, Rockwell Automation, will receive the Elihu Thomson Electrotechnology Medal, which honors an individual who has contributed in an exceptional, dedicated way to the field of electrotechnology standardization, conformity assessment, and related activities at the national and international levels.

James Pauley, president and CEO, National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), will receive the George S. Wham Leadership Medal, which honors an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the voluntary standardization community and provided long-term direction and visionary qualities in support of the ANSI Federation.

The ASTM International team responsible for Standardization News will receive the President's Award for Journalism, which honors journalists whose work helps to illuminate the role that standardization and conformity assessment activities play in the global marketplace.

Next Generation Awards

Two individuals will receive the Next Generation Award, for individuals who have been engaged in standardization or conformity assessment activities for less than eight years, and who have, during this time, demonstrated vision, leadership, dedication, and significant contributions to their chosen field of activity. The awardees are:

  • Marianna Kramarikova, manager, technology and standards, Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA)

  • Joseph Spossey, technical manager, global wind team, Intertek Energy Services

Meritorious Service Awards

Eight individuals will receive the Meritorious Service Award in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the U.S. voluntary standardization system. Each has demonstrated outstanding service in enabling ANSI to attain the objectives for which it was founded. The awardees are:

  • Elaina Finger, global standard process coordinator, Corning Incorporated

  • Megan Hayes, director, regulatory and standards strategy, NEMA/MITA

  • Judd Hesselroth, anti-corruption program director, office of legal compliance, CELA, Microsoft

  • Sheronda Jeffries, TL 9000 program manager, Cisco Systems, Inc.

  • John Mitchell, coordinator, cookstoves and clean indoor air, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

  • Glenn Sexton, president and CEO, Northwest Information Services, Inc.

  • Joan Sterling, vice president of government affairs, Intertek

  • Trudie Williams, program analyst, U.S. Department of Defense

The 18 winners will be honored at the 2016 ANSI Leadership and Service Awards, a banquet and ceremony to be held on Wednesday evening, October 26, at the Fairmont Hotel in Washington, DC. For more information, visit and

About ANSI

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is a private non-profit organization whose mission is to enhance U.S. global competitiveness and the American quality of life by promoting, facilitating, and safeguarding the integrity of the voluntary standardization and conformity assessment system. Its membership is made up of businesses, professional societies and trade associations, standards developers, government agencies, and consumer and labor organizations. The Institute represents the diverse interests of more than 125,000 companies and organizations and 3.5 million professionals worldwide.

The Institute is the official U.S. representative to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and, via the U.S. National Committee, the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), and is a U.S. representative to the International Accreditation Forum (IAF).


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]