Search Icon White

Distinguished Members of the Standardization Community Honored at the 2016 ANSI Awards Banquet and Ceremony


18 Awardees Recognized for Contributions to and Accomplishments in the Standards and Conformity Assessment Industry

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) honored leaders of the U.S. and global voluntary standards and conformity assessment community last night at the 2016 ANSI Awards Banquet and Ceremony. The annual leadership and service awards program is a long-standing tradition that recognizes and honors creativity, dedication, and vision in the field of standards and conformity assessment.

The ceremony was held at the Fairmont Washington in Washington, DC, and one of many ANSI-hosted events comprising the celebration of World Standards Week 2016. Eighteen distinguished individuals were recognized at the ceremony.

-Wayne Morris, vice president of technical operations and standards, Association of Home Appliance Manufacturers (AHAM), has been awarded the Astin-Polk International Standards Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting trade and understanding among nations through the advancement, development, or administration of international standardization, measurements, or certification.

-Colin Church, voluntary standards coordinator (retired), U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, received the Howard Coonley Medal, which recognizes an executive who has benefited the national economy through voluntary standardization and conformity assessment and has given outstanding support to standardization as a management tool.

-Kenneth Gettman, director of international standards, National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA), received the Finegan Standards Metal, which honors an individual who has shown extraordinary leadership in the actual development and application of voluntary standards.

-Jennifer Garner, director of INCITS Standards Programs, InterNational Committee for Information Technology Standards (INCITS), Information Technology Industry Council (ITI), received the Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal, which recognizes outstanding efforts to foster cooperation among bodies involved in global IT standardization.

-Timothy Duffy, manager of conformity assessment, Rockwell Automation, received the Gerald H. Rittersbusch Conformity Assessment Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting the understanding and application of conformity assessment methods as a means of providing confidence in standards compliance for the marketplace.

-Alec McMillan, Rockwell Automation, received the Elihu Thomson Electrotechnology Medal, which honors an individual who has contributed in an exceptional, dedicated way to the field of electrotechnology standardization, conformity assessment, and related activities at the national and international levels.

-James Pauley, president and CEO, National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), received the George S. Wham Leadership Medal, which honors an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the voluntary standardization community and provided long-term direction and visionary qualities in support of the ANSI Federation.

-The ASTM International team responsible for Standardization News received the President's Award for Journalism, which honors journalists whose work helps to illuminate the role that standardization and conformity assessment activities play in the global marketplace.

Next Generation Awards

Two individuals received the Next Generation Award, for individuals who have been engaged in standardization or conformity assessment activities for less than eight years and who have, during this time, demonstrated vision, leadership, dedication, and significant contributions to their chosen field of activity. The awardees are:

-Marianna Kramarikova, manager, technology and standards, Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA)

-Joseph Spossey, technical manager, global wind team, Intertek Energy Services

Meritorious Service Awards

Eight individuals received the Meritorious Service Award in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the U.S. voluntary standardization system. Each has demonstrated outstanding service in enabling ANSI to attain the objectives for which it was founded. The awardees are:

-Elaina Finger, global standard process coordinator, Corning Incorporated

-Megan Hayes, director, regulatory and standards strategy, NEMA/MITA

-Judd Hesselroth, anti-corruption program director, office of legal compliance, CELA, Microsoft

-Sheronda Jeffries, TL 9000 program manager, Cisco Systems, Inc.

-John Mitchell, coordinator, cookstoves and clean indoor air, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

-Glenn Sexton, president and CEO, Northwest Information Services, Inc.

-Joan Sterling, vice president of government affairs, Intertek

-Trudie Williams, program analyst, U.S. Department of Defense

ANSI congratulates these outstanding individuals on their contributions to and accomplishments in the standards and conformity assessment industry. Check back on for additional coverage and access the images from the event on the ANSI album.


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]