Search Icon White
News Cover Image

Voluntary Standards Cover the Spectrum: from Magnet Wire to Fire Protection of Information Technology Equipment


In an effort to communicate the vital role that standards play in daily life, the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) publishes snapshots of the diverse standards initiatives undertaken in the global and national standards arena, many of which are performed by ANSI members and ANSI-accredited standards developers. Two of the latest selections follow:

Magnet Wire

Magnet wire, also called enameled wire, is insulated copper used in the construction of various electromagnetic equipment, including motors and transformers. The National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA) recently revised the standard ANSI/NEMA MW 1000-2016 Magnet Wire, which contains standards for round, rectangular, and square film-insulated and/or fibrous-covered copper and aluminum magnet wire for use in electrical apparatus. Included are the definitions, type designations, dimensions, constructions, performance, and test methods for magnet wire generally used in the winding of coils for electrical apparatus.

According to NEMA, revisions to MW 1000 include new specifications that define the requirements for Class 120 polyvinyl acetal film insulated wire constructions. Also, a larger range of wire sizes can now be tested for dielectric breakdown using the cylinder method, which is a more convenient way of testing than making twisted pair test specimens.

NEMA, an ANSI member and accredited standards developer, developed this American National Standard (ANS). NEMA represents nearly 400 electrical, medical imaging, and radiation therapy manufacturers at the forefront of electrical safety, reliability, resilience, efficiency, and energy security. Its combined industries account for more than 400,000 American jobs and more than 7,000 facilities across the U.S.

Fire Protection of Information Technology Equipment

As the world increasingly depends on information technology for everything from data systems to devices and telecom services, protection of the IT equipment essential to business operations is imperative. The National Fire Protection Association's (NFPA's) NFPA 75-2017 Standard for the Fire Protection of Information Technology Equipment, 2017 edition sets forth the minimum requirements for the protection of IT equipment from damage by fire or its associated effects - namely, smoke, corrosion, heat, and water.

NFPA, an ANSI member and accredited standards developer, is committed to producing and promoting consensus codes and standards, research, and training and education, and works to prevent fires as well as to lessen the impact of fires when they do occur, which includes developing procedures that will keep firefighters safe and healthy.


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]