Search Icon White

Distinguished Members of the Standardization Community Honored at the 2017 ANSI Awards Banquet and Ceremony


22 Awardees Recognized for Contributions to and Accomplishments in the Standards and Conformity Assessment Industry

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) honored leaders of the U.S. and global voluntary standards and conformity assessment community last night at the 2017 ANSI Awards Banquet and Ceremony. The annual leadership and service awards program is a long-standing tradition that recognizes and honors creativity, dedication, and vision in the field of standards and conformity assessment.

The ceremony was held at The Watergate Hotel in Washington, DC, and one of many ANSI-hosted events comprising the celebration of World Standards Week 2017. ANSI awarded 22 distinguished individuals at the ceremony.

James M. Shannon, president, International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), has been awarded the Astin-Polk International Standards Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting trade and understanding among nations through the advancement, development, or administration of international standardization, measurements, or certification.

Sharon Stanford, director, department of standards administration, American Dental Association (ADA), will receive the Howard Coonley Medal, which recognizes an executive who has benefitted the national economy through voluntary standardization and conformity assessment and has given outstanding support to standardization as a management tool.

William Berger, managing director, standards, American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), will receive the Finegan Standards Metal, which honors an individual who has shown extraordinary leadership in the actual development and application of voluntary standards.

Masood Shariff, senior principal engineer, CommScope Network Solutions, will receive the Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal, which recognizes outstanding efforts to foster cooperation among bodies involved in global IT standardization.

William S. Hurst, chief, technical research branch, laboratory division, office of engineering & technology, Federal Communications Commission (FCC), and Jay Pendergrass, vice president, Environmental Law Institute, will receive the Gerald H. Ritterbusch Conformity Assessment Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting the understanding and application of conformity assessment methods as a means of providing confidence in standards compliance for the marketplace. This is the first time that two Ritterbusch Medals have been awarded in the same year, reflecting the critical contributions of conformity assessment professionals in the U.S. standardization system.

Don Heirman, president, Don Heirman Consultants, will receive the Elihu Thomson Electrotechnology Medal, which honors an individual who has contributed in an exceptional, dedicated way to the field of electrotechnology standardization, conformity assessment, and related activities at the national and international levels.

Mary Logan, president and CEO emeritus, Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation (AAMI), will receive the George S. Wham Leadership Medal, which honors an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the voluntary standardization community and provided long-term direction and visionary qualities in support of the ANSI Federation.

Ed Morris, director (retired), America Makes, and vice president (retired), National Center for Defense Manufacturing and Machining, will receive the Chairman's Award, which honors outstanding accomplishments performed by any group or individual on behalf of ANSI or the ANSI Federation.

Next Generation Awards

Four individuals will receive the Next Generation Award, honoring those who have been engaged in standardization or conformity assessment activities for less than eight years, and who have, during this time, demonstrated vision, leadership, dedication, and significant contributions to their chosen field of activity. The awardees are:

Christopher Dorr, senior hardware engineer, Rockwell Automation

Sun Gil Kim, program officer, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Andrew Northup, director, global affairs, Medical Imaging & Technology Alliance (MITA), a division of the National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA)

Amy Phelps, program manager, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)

Meritorious Service Awards

Nine individuals will receive the Meritorious Service Award in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the U.S. voluntary standardization system. Each has demonstrated outstanding service in enabling ANSI to attain the objectives for which it was founded. The awardees are:

William Boswell, counselor at law, William P. Boswell, LLC; general counsel, North American Energy Standards Board (NAESB)

Shaun Clancy, director, product regulatory services, Evonik Corporation

Mary Donaldson, program manager, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)

Steve Ferguson, manager, codes, American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE)

William G. Lawrence, Jr., principal engineer, hazardous locations, operations vice president, FM Approvals

Kevin Lippert, manager, codes and standards, Eaton Corporation

Deborah Prince, standards program manager, UL

Clark Silcox, general counsel, NEMA

Dr. Sue Ellen Wright, professor, German translation, Kent State University Institute for Applied Linguistics

ANSI congratulates these outstanding individuals on their contributions to and accomplishments in the standards and conformity assessment industry. Check back on for additional coverage and access the images from the event,via ANSI's Flickr album.


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]