Search Icon White
News Cover Image

ANSI Statement on Executive Orders on Entry to the U.S. by Certain Individuals from Certain Countries

This message was updated on 12/5/17.

On September 24, 2017, the Trump Administration issued a third, revised Executive Order relating to the Entry to the U.S. by Certain Individuals from Certain Countries, replacing two prior orders. The revised ban includes citizens from Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria and Yemen. It also includes some government officials from Venezuela. Although federal courts in Maryland and Hawaii temporarily blocked the September travel ban, the U.S. Supreme Court on 12/4/17 lifted those injunctions - stating that the third revised travel ban can now go into effect, while legal challenges to it proceed in lower courts. This remains a fluid situation. We will update this message with any significant changes, as appropriate.

As the U.S. member body to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and, via the U.S. National Committee, to the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) advises that individuals from these now six countries who are intending to travel to the United States to attend ISO or IEC Technical Committee (TC), Subcommittee (SC), Working Group (WG) or related meetings, seek appropriate guidance from an immigration attorney as well as from their national governments and national standard organizations before traveling. In the meantime, ANSI continues to investigate remote participation by affected individuals for meetings already scheduled.


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]