Search Icon White

ANSI Announces Recipients of the 2018 Leadership and Service Awards


Distinguished award recipients to be honored during World Standards Week

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) announced today the recipients of its 2018 Leadership and Service Awards. Recipients have been recognized for their significant contributions to national and international standardization activities, as well as an ongoing commitment to their industry, their nation, and the enhancement of the global voluntary consensus standards system. ANSI will honor these 23 distinguished award recipients during an October 17 ceremony held in conjunction with World Standards Week 2018 in Washington, DC.

David Bergman, vice president, standards, training, and international relations, IPC, has been awarded the Astin-Polk International Standards Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting trade and understanding among nations through the advancement, development, or administration of international standardization, measurements, or certification.

James E. Matthews III, director, technical standards and standards policy, distinguished associate, Corning Inc., will receive the Howard Coonley Medal, which recognizes an executive who has benefitted the national economy through voluntary standardization and conformity assessment and has given outstanding support to standardization as a management tool.

Allison Barnard Feeney, group leader, systems engineering, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), will receive the Finegan Standards Metal, which honors an individual who has shown extraordinary leadership in the actual development and application of voluntary standards.

Paul Jeran, distinguished technologist, HP Inc., will receive the Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal, which recognizes outstanding efforts to foster cooperation among bodies involved in global IT standardization.

Randy Dougherty, international technical specialist, InterAmerican Accreditation Cooperation/ ANSI-ASQ National Accreditation Board (ANAB), and Steven T. Margis, director, certification Programs and Accreditation, UL, will both receive the Gerald H. Ritterbusch Conformity Assessment Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting the understanding and application of conformity assessment methods as a means of providing confidence in standards compliance for the marketplace.

Sonya Bird, director of international standards, Underwriters Laboratories (UL), will receive the Elihu Thomson Electrotechnology Medal, which honors an individual who has contributed in an exceptional, dedicated way to the field of electrotechnology standardization, conformity assessment, and related activities at the national and international levels.

Neil Bogatz, former general counsel and consultant, IAPMO, will receive the George S. Wham Leadership Medal, which honors an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the voluntary standardization community and provided long-term direction and visionary qualities in support of the ANSI Federation.

The NFPA Journal Editorial Team will receive the President's Award for Journalism, which honors a journalist(s) whose work helps to illuminate the role that standardization and conformity assessment activities play in the global marketplace.

Next Generation Awards

Four individuals will receive the Next Generation Award, for individuals who have been engaged in standardization or conformity assessment activities for less than eight years and who have, during this time, demonstrated vision, leadership, dedication, and significant contributions to their chosen field of activity.

The awardees are:

- Muhammad Ali, Technical Program Manager, National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA)

- Michal Chojnacky, Physicist, NIST

- Mayur Patel, Attorney, Office of the United States Trade Representative

- Walter Zoller, Project Leader, Rockwell Automation

Meritorious Service Awards

Ten individuals will receive the Meritorious Service Award in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the U.S. voluntary standardization system. Each has demonstrated outstanding service in enabling ANSI to attain the objectives for which it was founded. The awardees are:

- Thomas Blewitt, Vice President, Chief Technical Officer, UL

- James Bress, President and CTO, AST Technology Labs, Inc.

- Lori Gillespie, Vice President, Management Systems, ANAB

- Paul Green, Manager, Corporate Product Relations and Standards, Intel Corporation

- Jim Jetter, Senior Research Engineer, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

- Eileen Hill, Team Leader, Standards, Office of Standards and Investment Policy, International Trade Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce

- Marsha Mazz, Director, Office of Information and Technical Services, U.S. Access Board (recently retired)

- Joe Musso, Standards Program Manager, UL

- Stephen Rood, Director, Codes and Standards-Electrical Wiring Systems Division, Legrand North America

- Jianchao Zeng, Ph.D., Senior Standards Advisor, U.S. Food and Drug Administration Center for Devices and Radiological Health

The 23 winners will be honored at the 2018 ANSI Leadership and Service Awards, a banquet and ceremony to be held on Wednesday evening, October 17, at The Fairmont Washington in Washington, DC. For more information, visit and

About ANSI

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is a private non-profit organization whose mission is to enhance U.S. global competitiveness and the American quality of life by promoting, facilitating, and safeguarding the integrity of the voluntary standardization and conformity assessment system. Its membership is comprised of businesses, professional societies and trade associations, standards developers, government agencies, and consumer and labor organizations.

The Institute represents and serves the diverse interests of more than 270,000 companies and organizations and 30 million professionals worldwide. ANSI is the official U.S. representative to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and, via the U.S. National Committee, the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC). For more information, visit


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]