Search Icon White

SES Conference Recognizes ANSI Leadership, Highlights Innovation-Driven Standards Development


The 67th annual conference of SES-The Society for Standards Professionals, held this week in Nashville, TN, underscored how standards developing organizations (SDOs) must be more innovation-driven than ever before to support a stronger foundation for the standardization community. During the event, SES awarded the American National Standards Institute (ANSI)'s Mary Saunders (center), vice president, government relations and public policy, with the Leo B. Moore awardthe highest honor granted by SESfor her contributions and distinguished service in the field of standardization.

Recipients of the Leo B. Moore award are recognized for accomplishments including: promotion of the principles, advantages and application of standards and standardization, leadership or service, technical or administrative, on behalf of industrial, national or international standards organizations, and development, encouragement, and support of educational programs, literature, and information relating to the field of standardization.

In the conference keynote address, entitled "From Transactional to Transformational," Katharine Morgan, president of ASTM International (an ANSI member and audited designator), encouraged SDO participants to be more "innovation-driven" than ever before. "The technical quality and market relevance of any standard is directly proportional to the strong participation of entrepreneurs and innovators," she said. "We need to simply draw more visibility and attention to the strengths of SDOsmany of the organizations in this room have made the investment necessary to keep pace with emerging technologies." [See the related ASTM news release].

See related article, ANSI's Mary Saunders Recipient of Leo B. Moore Award from SES-The Society for Standards Professionals, or read more about the SES conference.


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]