Search Icon White

Winners of ANSI 100th Anniversary Haiku Competition Announced


The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is pleased to announce the winners of its Haiku for ANSI's 100thcompetition, held in honor of the centennial anniversary of the Institute's founding in 1918. ANSI invited members of the standardization community and beyond to create a haiku that distills the essence of a voluntary standard to just 17 syllables (the standard haiku format) [See the related article: Get Poetic with Standards! Enter Our 100 Haiku for ANSI's 100th Competition].

Following review of over 50 outstanding submissions from a wide range of standards professionals and many other participants, ANSI's communications team has selected a winning haiku in each of the five contest categories. The winners are as follows, highlighted below:

We're not the writers

Of standards or good haiku.

We rely on you.

-American National Standards Institute

Overall Best

Breathing unhindered,

fingers and toes free from harm.

Shhh Baby sleeping.

Standard: ASTM F1169-13, Standard Consumer Safety Specification for Full Size Baby Cribs

- Penny Arrowwood


Title: Dangling

Dangle high above

Winter chill bites feared fallen

Happy are those caught

ANSI/ASSE Z359.1-2016, The Fall Protection Code

- Sean Coughlin, UAW


Title: Reaching

Climbing to catch up

Ladder of wood, hand foot hand

Safely in the stars

ANSI ASC A14.1-2007, American National Standards Ladders - Wood

- Linda Doran, Maine Labor Group on Health


Despite all the care

The standard guides to manage

The cow just says moo

ISO TS 34700:2016, Animal welfare management

- Jeffrey Strauss, Northwestern University


Access to and use

Of the built environment

Is a human right

ANSI A117.1, Accessible and Usable Buildings and Facilities

- Don Risdall, Pacific ADA Center, National Network of ADA Centers

The five winning writers will each receive an elegant award and a desktop Zen garden. Check out all the haiku submissions here (those providing permission with or without attribution).

Thanks to everyone who participated, and congratulations to the winners!


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]