Search Icon White

People on the Move


People on the Move highlights the career advancements of high-level trailblazers working professionally in diverse areas of standardization, contributing every day to the strength and success of the U.S. standards and conformance community.

The Advanced Medical Technology Association (AdvaMed), a member of the American National Standards Institute (ANSI), has named DeChane Dorsey as executive director of AdvaMed Accel, a division of AdvaMed that supports small and start-up medical technology manufacturers.

Ms. Dorsey has served as AdvaMed’s vice president of payment and health care delivery policy since 2006. In this role, she provided analysis and guidance on Medicare payment, coding, and coverage issues to AdvaMed’s members. She was also team lead on the organization’s health equity workstream, overseeing the creation and execution of its principles on health equity. Ms. Dorsey will remain in this role as she assumes her new position with AdvaMed Accel. Previously, she was director of health policy for the American Academy of Ophthalmology and senior counsel in the Office of Counsel to the Inspector General within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

“DeChane is an exceptional and intelligent leader. She is thorough and thoughtful; she conducts herself with grace and grit; she provides valued counsel and is a great confidant. It’s her innovative spirit and can-do attitude that make DeChane the right choice to lead AdvaMed Accel at this important time in our history,” said Scott Whitaker, president and CEO of AdvaMed. “I know our small medtech companies – the lifeblood of the medtech industry – will flourish with her at the helm.”


The American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM), an ANSI member, has announced that John M. Boone is the new editor-in-chief of its flagship journal, Medical Physics.

Dr. Boone is a professor of radiology and biomedical engineering at the University of California Berkeley. He leads the Boone Laboratory, which focuses on the potential of dedicated cone beam breast CT as a new method for both breast cancer screening and the diagnostic breast examination. Dr. Boone has been active with AAPM for many years, becoming a Fellow in 1999 and serving as vice-chair and chair of the Science Council for 12 years. He was elected as AAPM president in 2015, and awarded the organization’s William D. Coolidge Gold Medal in 2019. Dr. Boone previously served as deputy editor of Medical Physics, chaired the Journal Business Management Committee, and held several other vital roles for the Journal in previous years.

“AAPM is tremendously pleased John Boone is the new editor-in-chief of Medical Physics,” said M. Saiful Huq, AAPM president. “Dr. Boone’s knowledge of the field and dedicated leadership to AAPM and the medical physics profession uniquely qualify him for this very important position. I’m sure the members are as excited about this as I am. I am confident that John will lead our journal to even greater national and international prominence.”


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]