Search Icon White

Distinguished Members of the Standardization Community Honored at the 2020-2021 ANSI Awards Banquet and Ceremony


28 Awardees Recognized for Their Contributions to Standards, Conformity Assessment, and Workforce Development

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) honored leaders of the U.S. and global voluntary standards and conformity assessment community last night at the 2020-2021 ANSI Awards Banquet and Ceremony. The leadership and service awards program is a long-standing tradition that recognizes and honors creativity, dedication, and vision in the field of standards and conformity assessment. View the event photo gallery.

The ceremony was held at The Fairmont Hotel in Washington, DC, and was one of many ANSI-hosted events comprising the spring 2022 celebration of World Standards Week.

In light of the circumstances of the past two years, the ceremony recognized award candidates from both 2020 and 2021. Accordingly, several medals that are typically only given to one awardee in a given year were awarded to more than one individual.

“The 2020-2021 awardees span many industries, but what they all share in common is exemplary achievement in standardization,” said Russ Chaney, immediate past chair of the ANSI Board of Directors, during his presentation of the awards. “They have all gone above and beyond in their contributions to national and international standardization activities.”

ANSI awarded 28 distinguished individuals at the ceremony:


Sylvia Mohr, standards liaison to Europe (retired July 2020), ASME, received the Astin-Polk International Standards Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting trade and understanding among nations through the advancement, development, or administration of international standardization, measurements, or certification.


Two recipients were awarded the Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal, which recognizes outstanding efforts to foster cooperation among bodies involved in global IT standardization.

Brian Celella, principal electrical engineer, The Siemon Company

Wo Chang, computer scientist, Information Technology Laboratory, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)


Timothy Duffy, senior manager, conformity assessment, Rockwell Automation, received the Elihu Thomson Electrotechnology Medal, which honors an individual who has contributed in an exceptional, dedicated way to the field of electrotechnology standardization, conformity assessment, and related activities at the national and international levels.


Two recipients were awarded the Finegan Standards Medal, which honors individuals who have shown extraordinary leadership in the actual development and application of voluntary standards.

Michael Carano, vice president, technology and business development, RBP Chemical Technology

David Osborn, manager, international standards, Philips Medical Systems


Two recipients were awarded the George S. Wham Leadership Medal, which honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the voluntary standardization community and provided long-term direction and visionary qualities in support of the ANSI Federation.

Ajit Jillavenkatesa, Ph.D., senior standards policy legal advisor, Apple Inc.,former senior policy advisor, standards and digitalization, NIST

Paris Stavrianidis, chief executive officer, FM Approvals

Gerald H. Ritterbusch Conformity Assessment Medal

Warren Merkel, chief, standards services, NIST, received the Gerald H. Ritterbusch Conformity Assessment Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting the understanding and application of conformity assessment methods as a means of providing confidence in standards compliance for the marketplace.


Sonya Bird, director, international standards, UL, received the Howard Coonley Medal, which recognizes an executive who has benefitted the national economy through voluntary standardization and conformity assessment and has given outstanding support to standardization as a management tool.


Elaina Finger, global standards process coordinator, Corning Inc., was awarded the President's Award for Journalism, which honors a journalist(s) whose work helps to illuminate the role that standardization and conformity assessment activities play in the global marketplace.


The following individuals received the Meritorious Service Award in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the U.S. voluntary standardization system. Each has demonstrated outstanding service in enabling ANSI to attain the objectives for which it was founded:

Todd Arnold, senior technical staff member, IBM

Ethan Biery, technical leader, system sales engineering team, Lutron Electronics Co.

Julie Cairns, senior project manager, CSA Group

Bob Czarnecki, chairman, standards committee, (retired), International Institute of Ammonia Refrigeration

Mary Jo DiBernardo, program manager, standards coordination office, NIST

Ritesh Ghimire, aerospace engineer, AUS-420 technology programs branch, custodian of ANSI UASSC Roadmap, Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)

Bruce Hopkins, vice president, standards, (retired), Recreation Vehicle Industry Association

Sharon Lappalainen, deputy director, standards and conformity assessment program, U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Center for Devices and Radiological Health

Stephen Oksala, president, Oksala Consulting

Bob Sherwin, chief executive officer/president and founder of Vermont Windpower International, LLC, and managing partner of EAPC Wind Energy Services, LLC

Paula Watkins, manager, midstream standards, American Petroleum Institute (API)

John Weritz, vice president, standards and technology, The Aluminum Association


Several individuals received the Next Generation Award, presented to professionals who have been engaged in standardization or conformity assessment activities for less than eight years and who have, during this time, demonstrated vision, leadership, dedication, and significant contributions to their chosen field of activity:

Carolyn Hull, DICOM general secretary, Medical Imaging and Technology Alliance (MITA)

Greg Knott, vice president, standards and regulatory affairs, Outdoor Power Equipment Institute (OPEI)

Nathan Tom, Ph.D., researcher III, mechanical engineering, National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)

Judy Zakreski, vice president, global services, International Code Council (ICC)


Marya Ryan, Ph.D., program director, Board of Certified Safety Professionals, was awarded the ANSI Workforce Development and Innovation Award, which recognizes accredited credentialing bodies that significantly impact workforce development in the United States.

ANSI congratulates these outstanding individuals on their contributions to and accomplishments in the standards and conformity assessment industry.

ANSI Awards winners May 2022 

2022 ANSI Leadership and Service Awards: Nominations Open through June 24

The call for nominations for the 2022 ANSI Leadership and Service Awards is now open through June 24, 2022. For more details visit


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]