Search Icon White
Closeup of ANSI Award crystals on a black table.

Nominations for 2022 ANSI Leadership and Service Awards Open through June 24


The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is pleased to open the call for nominations for its 2022 Leadership and Service Awards. ANSI will present the awards at a banquet and ceremony on October 12, 2022, at The Fairmont Washington, Washington, DC, during the fall 2022 World Standards Week events. Nominations for all 12 categories of awards are due by June 24, 2022 (5 p.m. Eastern).

ANSI's Leadership and Service Awards honor individuals and organizations who have made significant contributions to voluntary consensus standards development, conformity assessment activities, and workforce development, and whose contributions have consistently demonstrated a commitment to their industry, the nation, and the enhancement of the global standardization system.

Criteria and submission information for the full list of ANSI Leadership and Service Awards is available at Nominations forms for each award are available here and also linked below.

Astin-Polk International Standards Medal

Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal

Finegan Standards Medal

George S. Wham Leadership Medal

Gerald H. Ritterbusch Conformity Assessment Medal

Howard Coonley Medal

Maureen Breitenberg Conformity Assessment Research Medal

Meritorious Service Award

Next Generation Award

President's Award for Journalism

Thomson Electrotechnology Medal

Workforce Development and Innovation Award

Of note, the Maureen Breitenberg Conformity Assessment Medal, established in 2019, has been expanded to honor work that advances the principles of the National Technology Transfer and Advancement Act (NTTAA) through outstanding contributions that support reducing redundancy and complexity in conformity assessment. Efforts to leverage private-sector conformity assessment infrastructure to meet market and regulatory needs—or distinguished research from business, industry, government, academic, or non-profit professionals that illuminate the importance of conformance in providing confidence in standards compliance, improving the health and safety of Americans, and strengthening the competitiveness of U.S. business in the global marketplace—will be considered in the selection process.

Eligibility and Selection
Representatives of industry, government, academia, consumer organizations, and the U.S. voluntary consensus standards and conformity assessment community—with the exception of current officers of the Institute's Board of Directors—are considered eligible for an award. Recipients will be chosen by an awards committee that comprises the officers of the ANSI Board of Directors.

As part of the nomination, letters of support from members of the standardization community attesting to the nominee's achievements are strongly encouraged. The nomination forms are available here. Winners will be announced in the summer of 2022.

"ANSI's annual awards program is a tribute to the dedicated professionals who make up the diverse U.S. standardization community,” said S. Joe Bhatia, ANSI president and CEO. "We look forward to honoring outstanding contributions that help to strengthen the economy and the workforce, protect the environment, and improve the well-being of people around the world."

For more information, visit


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]