ANSI - American National Standards Institute

Ronald H. Brown Standards Leadership Award

The Ronald H. Brown Standards Leadership Award, named after the late U.S. Secretary of Commerce, recognizes demonstrated leadership in promoting the important role of standardization in eliminating global barriers to trade.

This special award was presented during the U.S. World Standards Day reception and dinner, which was held in Washington, DC.

Guidelines for Ronald H. Brown Standards Leadership Award

Guidelines for Ronald H. Brown Standards Leadership Award – As developed by World Standards Day Planning Committee, June 1995.

  • Demonstrates leadership in promoting the role of international standards to eliminate global barriers to trade and in promoting U.S. standards as a tool to enhance U.S. global competitiveness.
  • Demonstrates a clear commitment to and authorizes resources within the organization, agency, or corporation for the development of national and international standards.
  • Exhibits leadership and visionary qualities in support of national and international standardization as evidenced by speeches in national fora and articles in national publications
  • Creates an atmosphere in the company that encourages the development of anticipatory standards in support of emerging technologies and in pursuit of a company’s business strategies.
  • Demonstrates support of the principle of global supplier declaration of conformance of products and services to international standards.
  • Individual should have a clear understanding of the standards development process preferably by having served on a standards making committee.
  • Encourages staff participation in external standards committees
  • Organization supports U.S, standards system.
  • Has demonstrated through service, a commitment to the voluntary standards community of the United States.

Past Recipients of the Ronald H. Brown Standards Leadership Award

2019 Austin Freeman, Ph.D
Segment Engineering Technical Authority, BP
2018 Arthur E. Cote,
Former executive vice president and chief engineer (retired)
National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)
2017 Charles Sidebottom, P.E.
Managing Partner, PPO Standards LLC
2016 James A. Thomas,
President, ASTM International
2015 James Williamson,
former Vice President of Technical Standards at Sony Electronics
2014 Jimmy W. Sealy,
Fellow of the American Institute of Architects (FAIA)
2013 Catherine (Kitty) H. Pilarz,
Senior Director of Product Safety for Mattel/Fisher-Price
2012 Ronald L. Lynn,
Director and Building Official, Clark County (Nevada) Department of Development Services
2011 James Shannon,
President, National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)
2010 Marsha Mazz,
Senior Accessibility Specialist and Technical Assistance Coordinator, United States Access Board
2009 Jim Sanford,
assistant U.S. trade representative for Market Access and Industrial Competitiveness
2008 James H. Turner, Jr.,
Chief Counsel, Committee on Science and Technology, U.S. House of Representatives
2007 Dr. James E. Hill,
former president of the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air- Conditioning Engineers, Inc.
2006 Constance A. Morella,
U.S. Ambassador to the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and former member of the U.S. House of Representatives
2005 Richard E. Feigel,
President, American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
2004 Simon Pugh,
Vice President, Infrastructure and Standards, MasterCard International
2003 Jack Dangermond,
President, Environmental Systems Research Institute (ESRI)
2002 William M. Daley,
President, SBC Communications Inc.
2001 Robert W. Lane,
President & CEO, Deere & Company
2000 J. W. Marriott, Jr.,
CEO, Marriott International, Inc.
1999 Robert L. Mallett,
Deputy Secretary of Commerce, U.S. Department of Commerce
1998 Dana G. Mead,
Chairman & CEO, Tenneco
1997 Philip M. Condit,
Chairman & CEO, The Boeing Company
1996 Richard C. Notebaert,
Chairman of the Board & CEO, Ameritech
1995 William J. Hudson,
President & CEO, AMP, Incorporated
1994 Gary L. Tooker,
Vice Chairman & CEO, Motorola Inc.
1993 I. Mac Allister Booth,
Chairman & CEO, Polaroid Corporation

Contact Information

Program and registration: Registration Coordinator; 212.642.8901
Sponsorship information: Sponsorship Coordinator; 212.642.4890

 Homeland Defense and Security Standardization Collaborative