World Standards Day
[Exhibits, Reception, and Dinner]


5:30 - 9:30, November 7, 2019


The Fairmont, Washington DC

world Standards Day | Overview

The U.S. Celebration of World Standards Day, an annual event recognizing the critical role of various stakeholders across the standards community, including business leaders, industry, academia, and government, was held at the Fairmont Hotel in Washington, DC, on November 7, 2019.

The event included the presentation of the 2019 Ronald H. Brown Standards Leadership award, which is named after the late U.S. Secretary of Commerce and honors an individual who has effectively promoted standardization as a key tool in the elimination of global trade barriers. The winners of the 2019 World Standards Day Paper Competition were also announced.

The 2019 U.S. Celebration of World Standards Day was widely attended by employees from several federal government agencies.

World Standards Day was initially launched in 1970, and is now recognized and celebrated by nations around the globe. U.S. activities are organized annually by a planning committee consisting of representatives from the standards and conformity assessment community. The American Petroleum Institute (API) served as the event’s 2019 administrating organization.

2019 WSD | Paper Competition

In celebration of standards, and their growing impact on the global economy, SES - The Society for Standards Professionals and the U.S. Celebration of World Standards Day Planning Committee co-sponsored the annual paper competition for individuals in the U.S. standards community. The 2019 paper competition winners were announced at the U.S. Celebration of World Standards Day on November 7.

About the | 2019 Theme

Standards Build Connections

From facilitating high-speed communication to infrastructure upgrades for access, resilience, and interoperability, to leveraging artificial intelligence to improve understanding, technology is transforming our world. Voluntary standards and conformity assessment activities enable innovators to build on established technologies – and devise modern solutions that allow people, organizations, and systems across the world to connect in ever-evolving ways.

Ronald H. Brown | Standards Leadership Award

The Ronald H. Brown Standards Leadership Award, named after the late U.S. Secretary of Commerce, recognizes demonstrated leadership in promoting the important role of standardization in eliminating global barriers to trade.

This special award was presented during the U.S. World Standards Day reception and dinner, which was held in Washington, DC.

Guidelines for Ronald H. Brown Standards Leadership Award

Guidelines for Ronald H. Brown Standards Leadership Award - developed by World Standards Day Planning Committee, June 1995.

  • Demonstrates leadership in promoting the role of international standards to eliminate global barriers to trade and in promoting U.S. standards as a tool to enhance U.S. global competitiveness.
  • Demonstrates a clear commitment to and authorizes resources within the organization, agency, or corporation for the development of national and international standards.
  • Exhibits leadership and visionary qualities in support of national and international standardization as evidenced by speeches in national fora and articles in national publications
  • Creates an atmosphere in the company that encourages the development of anticipatory standards in support of emerging technologies and in pursuit of a company’s business strategies.
  • Demonstrates support of the principle of global supplier declaration of conformance of products and services to international standards.
  • Individual should have a clear understanding of the standards development process preferably by having served on a standards making committee.
  • Encourages staff participation in external standards committees.
  • Organization supports U.S, standards system.
  • Has demonstrated through service, a commitment to the voluntary standards community of the United States.

2019Austin Freeman, Ph.D
Segment Engineering Technical Authority, BP
2018Arthur E. Cote,
Former executive vice president and chief engineer (retired)
National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)
2017Charles Sidebottom, P.E.
Managing Partner, PPO Standards LLC
2016James A. Thomas,
President, ASTM International
2015James Williamson,
former Vice President of Technical Standards at Sony Electronics
2014Jimmy W. Sealy,
Fellow of the American Institute of Architects (FAIA)
2013Catherine (Kitty) H. Pilarz,
Senior Director of Product Safety for Mattel/Fisher-Price
2012Ronald L. Lynn,
Director and Building Official, Clark County (Nevada) Department of Development Services
2011James Shannon,
President, National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)
2010Marsha Mazz,
Senior Accessibility Specialist and Technical Assistance Coordinator, United States Access Board
2009Jim Sanford,
assistant U.S. trade representative for Market Access and Industrial Competitiveness
2008James H. Turner, Jr.,
Chief Counsel, Committee on Science and Technology, U.S. House of Representatives
2007Dr. James E. Hill,
former president of the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air- Conditioning Engineers, Inc.
2006Constance A. Morella,
U.S. Ambassador to the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and former member of the U.S. House of Representatives
2005Richard E. Feigel,
President, American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
2004Simon Pugh,
Vice President, Infrastructure and Standards, MasterCard International
2003Jack Dangermond,
President, Environmental Systems Research Institute (ESRI)
2002William M. Daley,
President, SBC Communications Inc.
2001Robert W. Lane,
President & CEO, Deere & Company
2000J. W. Marriott, Jr.,
CEO, Marriott International, Inc.
1999Robert L. Mallett,
Deputy Secretary of Commerce, U.S. Department of Commerce
1998Dana G. Mead,
Chairman & CEO, Tenneco
1997Philip M. Condit,
Chairman & CEO, The Boeing Company
1996Richard C. Notebaert,
Chairman of the Board & CEO, Ameritech
1995William J. Hudson,
President & CEO, AMP, Incorporated
1994Gary L. Tooker,
Vice Chairman & CEO, Motorola Inc.
1993I. Mac Allister Booth,
Chairman & CEO, Polaroid Corporation