Search Icon White
A close-up of a crystal award and plaque presented to ANSI Leadership and Service Award winners.

Nominations Deadline is Almost Here! ANSI 2023 Leadership and Service Awards Open Through April 14


Reminder to Nominate: The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is pleased to open the call for nominations for its 2023 Leadership and Service Awards. ANSI will present the awards at a banquet and ceremony on October 11, 2023, at The Ritz-Carlton in Washington, DC, during the fall 2023 World Standards Week events. Nominations for all 12 categories of awards are due by April 14, 2023 (5 p.m. Eastern).

ANSI's Leadership and Service Awards honor individuals and organizations who have made significant contributions to voluntary consensus standards development, conformity assessment activities, and workforce development, and whose contributions have consistently demonstrated a commitment to their industry, the nation, and the enhancement of the global standardization system.

Criteria and submission information for the full list of ANSI Leadership and Service Awards is available at Nominations forms for each award are available here and also linked below.

Astin-Polk International Standards Medal

Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal

Finegan Standards Medal

George S. Wham Leadership Medal

Gerald H. Ritterbusch Conformity Assessment Medal

Howard Coonley Medal

Maureen Breitenberg Conformity Assessment Research Medal

Meritorious Service Award

Next Generation Award

President's Award for Journalism

Elihu Thomson Electrotechnology Medal

Stephen Crawford Workforce Development and Innovation Award

Eligibility and Selection
Representatives of industry, government, academia, consumer organizations, and the U.S. voluntary consensus standards and conformity assessment community—with the exception of current officers of the Institute's Board of Directors—are considered eligible for an award. Recipients will be chosen by an awards committee that comprises the officers of the ANSI Board of Directors.

As part of the nomination, letters of support from members of the standardization community attesting to the nominee's achievements are strongly encouraged. The nomination forms are available at Completed nominations forms should be sent to [email protected] by April 14, 2023. Winners are expected to be announced in spring 2023.

"ANSI's annual awards program is a tribute to the dedicated professionals who make up the diverse U.S. standardization community,” said S. Joe Bhatia, ANSI president and CEO. "We look forward to honoring outstanding contributions that help to strengthen the economy and the workforce, protect the environment, and improve the well-being of people around the world."

For more information, visit


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]