Search Icon White

Deadline Approaching: ANSI Nominations for 2017 Leadership and Service Awards


Nominations are due by Friday, June 16; Winners announced in August

Reminder: Nominations due by Friday, June 16, for the American National Standards Institute (ANSI)'s 2017 Leadership and Service Awards. The awards, which are presented in conjunction with World Standards Week (WSW) 2017, honor individuals who have made significant contributions to voluntary consensus standardization and conformity assessment programs and have consistently demonstrated a commitment to their industry, their nation, and the enhancement of the global standards system.

"The annual awards program is a long-standing and valuable ANSI tradition," said S. Joe Bhatia, ANSI president and CEO. "We welcome this opportunity each year to recognize the tremendous contributions that individuals with diverse backgrounds and perspectives make to standards and conformity assessment issues that affect both the economy and our well-being."

The following Leadership and Service Awards are open for nominations:

Astin-Polk International Standards Medal

Chairman's Award

Coonley Medal

Finegan Standards Medal

Lohse Information Technology Medal

Meritorious Service Award

Next Generation Award

President's Award for Journalism

Ritterbusch Conformity Assessment Medal

Thomson Electrotechnology Medal

Wham Leadership Medal

Representatives of industry, government, academia, consumer organizations, and the U.S. voluntary consensus standards and conformity assessment community, with the exception of current officers of the Institute's Board of Directors, are considered eligible for an award. Recipients will be chosen from the list of nominees by an awards committee comprised of the officers of the ANSI Board of Directors.

ANSI will honor the 2017 award recipients on the evening of Wednesday, October 18, 2017, at a banquet and ceremony to be held at The Watergate Hotel in Washington, DC.

Nominations are due by Friday, June 16, 2017 (5 p.m. Eastern).

Along with the nomination form, letters of support from members of the standardization community attesting to the nominee's outstanding achievements and appropriateness for receipt of the award are strongly encouraged. The nomination forms are available here. Winners will be announced by August 2017.

For information detailing the nomination procedure, the recipient selection process, and nomination forms, visit

About ANSI

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is a private non-profit organization whose mission is to enhance U.S. global competitiveness and the American quality of life by promoting, facilitating, and safeguarding the integrity of the voluntary standardization and conformity assessment system. Its membership is comprised of businesses, professional societies and trade associations, standards developers, government agencies, and consumer and labor organizations. The Institute represents the diverse interests of more than 125,000 companies and organizations and 3.5 million professionals worldwide.

The Institute is the official U.S. representative to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and, via the U.S. National Committee, the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), and is a U.S. representative to the International Accreditation Forum (IAF).


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]