Search Icon White

Deadline One Month Away: Nominations for 2018 Leadership and Service Awards


Reminder: The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is pleased to announce a call for nominations for its 2018 Leadership and Service Awards. The awards, which are presented in conjunction with World Standards Week (WSW) 2018, honor individuals who have made significant contributions to voluntary consensus standardization and conformity assessment programs and have consistently demonstrated a commitment to their industry, their nation, and the enhancement of the global standards system.

"As ANSI celebrates its 100th anniversary in 2018, this annual awards program is a tribute to individuals that reflect the Institute's legacyand are now part of a long-standing and valuable ANSI tradition," said S. Joe Bhatia, ANSI president and CEO. "We welcome this opportunity each year to recognize the tremendous contributions that individuals with diverse backgrounds and perspectives make to standards and conformity assessment issues that affect both the economy and our well-being."

The following Leadership and Service Awards are open for nominations:

Astin-Polk International Standards Medal

Chairman's Award

Coonley Medal

Finegan Standards Medal

Lohse Information Technology Medal

Meritorious Service Award

Next Generation Award

President's Award for Journalism

Ritterbusch Conformity Assessment Medal

Thomson Electrotechnology Medal

Wham Leadership Medal

Representatives of industry, government, academia, consumer organizations, and the U.S. voluntary consensus standards and conformity assessment community, with the exception of current officers of

the Institute's Board of Directors, are considered eligible for an award. Recipients will be chosen from the list of nominees by an awards committee comprised of the officers of the ANSI Board of Directors.

ANSI will honor the 2018 award recipients on the evening of Wednesday, October 17, 2018, at a banquet and ceremony to be held at The Fairmont Washington, Washington, DC.

Nominations are due by Friday, June 15, 2018 (5 p.m. Eastern).

Along with the nomination form, letters of support from members of the standardization community attesting to the nominee's outstanding achievements and appropriateness for receipt of the award are strongly encouraged. The nomination forms are available here. Winners will be announced by August 2018.

For information detailing the nomination procedure, the recipient selection process, and nomination forms, visit

About ANSI

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is a private non-profit organization whose mission is to enhance U.S. global competitiveness and the American quality of life by promoting, facilitating, and safeguarding the integrity of the voluntary standardization and conformity assessment system. Its membership is comprised of businesses, professional societies and trade associations, standards developers, government agencies, and consumer and labor organizations.

The Institute represents and serves the diverse interests of more than 270,000 companies and organizations and 30 million professionals worldwide. ANSI is the official U.S. representative to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and, via the U.S. National Committee, the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC). For more information, visit


Jana Zabinski

Senior Director, Communications & Public Relations


[email protected]

Beth Goodbaum

Journalist/Communications Specialist


[email protected]